We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We dined at the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park
Huka Falls Road | Lake Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
64 7 374 8474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 things to do in Taupo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We dined at the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The prawns were an amazing size but it lacked flavor. I was really surprised. Even the dips didn't kick it up a notch. We didn't participate in the other activities, like fishing for prawns or go on a boat ride, etc. We were passing through on our way down south. The best part about this short visit was the THERMAL FOOT BATH that's on the grass off the restaurant. It felt so good, I could have stayed there all day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    117
    71
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average - but a novelty the first time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place has lots of options for prawn fishing and other things. We haven't ever done this part of their offering.

They do have a restaurant, which is located on the river bank, so does have good views. Their menu (obviously) uses prawns as a basis for their menu. Ive been a few times over the past 5 years, and the menu hasn't changed. Its also a tad overpriced for the quality you get. Reliance on deep frying is a bit too old fashioned a food style.

The kids menu is awful with deep fried ''food'' the norm. I wont be returning on this basis alone, unless they revamp the kids menu to include healthier options.

Still, the place is always busy, so someone must like it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Took the family here today and had a great time. The tour was interesting (especially feeding the young prawns), the fishing was entertaining, and the restaurant was spacious, child-friendly and had good service to boot. We spent half a day there but you could easily stay longer if you get engrossed in the fishing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice day out but tricky fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a good day out here and did pretty much everything. The bush walk was a bit of fun with various things to do along the way. The prawns are tricky to catch & not large by Australian standards, but we have a very patient child who would have loved to sit all day & fish. The food at the cafe was nice but we didn't have prawns to eat - which I'm glad about since just read a review that said the prawns were from Thailand!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fishing for Prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I went with my family to visit the Prawn Park. Since my family had been before and my neice & nephew just really wanted to catch some prawns we only did the fishing this time. We hadn't left much time fo the day to do it, but within the hour we had all caught at least one!! We ended up leaving with a total of 10, just enough to make a couple of small cocktails!! But the experience was great and we had a lot of fun. The way to do it better would be to take a small chiller with snacks & food in it and spend a few hours, it's very relaxing and a nice sunny spot to chill out and catch prawns!!
Since we had arrived later in the day, the Prawn Park offered to let us come again the next day for no charge, which we did and managed to catch a few more!!
It was an unique experience and next time I think we will do the tour and learn more about breeding the prawns....plus the restaurant looked and smelled amazing, so a proper meal there sounds like a must-do!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huka Prawn Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.