We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming and analy retentive.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Chateau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Chateau to your Saves list
Falls Chateau
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   12 Chateau Crescent, Taupo 3370, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming and analy retentive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were to stay here on Thursday night which my boss had booked the cheapest room possible. When we got there a man was waiting for us on the driveway with his clipboard ready to meet us. He told us that due to their strict "no kids" policy, we had had our room upgraded to the 2 level deluxe apartment. At first we thought this would be good, but after the man quickly ran upstairs to lock the extra room, we started to have our doubts

He promptly started reading us the list of do not's which included; no visitors, do not turn the heatpump above 22 degrees, do not park anywhere but here, do not slam the door etc.

Seeing as the room had two lounges and enough seating to accomodate atleast 20 people, we invited 2 friends over after dinner for a quick drink. Within 3 minutes of walking back into the house we recieved a text message (pictures attached) to say that they had to leave with the ridiculous excuse that "security" (who turns out to be all one person) have noticed additional people in the room and that they must leave. I rang him to tell him we were just having a drink and to simmer down and he gave us 30 minutes before they had to be out. 34 minutes later, we recieved another text saying that the guests were still there and if he had to send a "security gaurd" to evict them, we would be charged. He kept using the same stupid excuses and in the end we all left as we felt uncomfortable constantly being monitored. The man must have just bought a dymo label maker or something and had gone bananas with it. A couple of stickers to note were: " do not cook asian or indian food" above the stove. A sign on the heatpump remote that said " do not turn to above 22 degrees or the unit will be shut down". There were signs that said if we didn't leave by 10 that there would be a charge put on our card immediatly, $50 for a lost towel, and a fee for not cleaning the room. I was to scared to pass wind incase we were charged some sort of soiling the air fee.

I understand that we only paid about $100, but its not our fault he had double booked us. All in all, a really nice place that has terrible customer service and an analy retentive manager/owner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    7
    9
    15
See reviews for
7
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked to stay in this accommodation in January for an April Wedding (in advance). We arrived just after 2pm as we were aware we could not check in any earlier. This man arrived from around the corner as we drove in to the driveway with a clipboard. I told him the booking name and he said he didn't have our booking and immediately went into a "rant" about how this "happened " a couple of times a year. He then without giving us an option got on the phone and booked us into another accommodation further away in Taupo.
Now we were due for a 3pm wedding next door to the accommodation and so went to get dressed at friends accommodation. As we would have to drive now anyway that evening we then decided to drive back to Auckland after the wedding and so rang the new booking to tell them. Then the lady tells us the booking had been made for us 2 weeks prior and was a confirmed booking. THe strange mad had pretended to book us a room on the phone that afternoon!!! I told her that she would have to take that up with whoever booked it.

I have since read the reviews for this place and would NOT recommend Falls chateau.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had upstairs apartment with great view - apartment well-equipped & comfortable. No reception as such so arrival can be a bit hit & miss (particularly if you not sure what time you're turning up!). A short distance out of Taupo but close to Huka Falls etc. - good base for Thermal sites if you want to avoid the smells of Rotorua!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked a night here recently and ended up staying for two. We would have stayed for a third night but it was fully booked. The upper floor apartment we had was luxurious with a great view. As others have mentioned the walls must be pretty thin as we could hear the other residents which may have been a problem if they had been noisy but fortunately they were not

We also found the manager to be friendly enough. He recommended local restaurants and other useful tips about the area. The place is about a 5 minute drive from the centre of Taupo and would be a bit out of the way for travellers without a car

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanganui
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Had a really enjoyable stay but it was tempered by the initial welcome or not? We arrived at 2/15pm to find a sign on the door saying apartment would be ready at 2/30 when cleaned, Fair enough so we left the car parked outside and went for a short 10 min stroll around the area. On our return we were met with "is this your car I was about to have it towed as this is a private area" No signs and as one was booked in it was not unreasonable to park while waiting for check in. Had it been towed the commandant would have been ordered to return it at his expense or I would have charged him with theft. Fortunately we never saw him again so had a great stay. Agree with other comments that Falls Chateau is not a Chateau not a hotel. More specialty accommodation. Notes like 10am checkout and if you are here after 10/15 a $50 charge will be put on your credit card, NO VISITORS ALLOWED, $50 charge if a towel is lost and most ridiculous $100 charge if and extra room is used. They are all locked and bolted like a prison so difficult to use. Despite these negatives still enjoyed our stay. Just hope no extra
charges appear on credit card as they will be disputed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We want comfort, peace and quiet, Sky and WiFi - this unusual large house has the lot! Luxury linens and comfortable pillows down to the mink throw for the sofa/bed and lemon balm soap in the shower, and SILENT at night.
We stayed in 'the overnighter', which was huge - the walk in wardrobe could have had a standard double bed in it.... The owner showed controls for the TV/Sky, air con, heating and the little cubby hole for hot drinks where the fridge contained fresh milk too instead of those horrible sachets of creamer. He was very welcoming and sent confirmation texts, asked our ETA so he could welcome us and gave excellent sirections by text - nice touch - and chatted to us for a while about this different type of accommodation. He doesn't live on site, all suites are separate and each has a private garden area. It is a very large brand new house.
It IS unusual - the estate is not complete yet; it is being built as a holiday apartment/conference and wedding centre, with an attractive old steepled church at the entrance (but no ugly building works was seen by us). The views across to the great lake are stunning. The only slightly usual request is that you leave by 1000 hours or get charged extra (fair enough - the standard of cleanliness and the bedding take time to acheive) and you wash up any crockery used - no sachet of washing up liquid though!
It is only 3 minutes drive down to Taupo for restaurants and entertainment, and a nice walk to the Huka Falls. our previous experiences of Taupo have always been "It's a fab place to stay, but most hotels are far too close together, so it is very noisy at night" but now, we've found here, we'll be back more often! We will RAVE about this place to all our friends and will ALWAYS stay here from now on.

Room Tip: An upstairs room gives a clear view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I was worried after reading the bad reviews but neednt have been. We have just stayed in the 2 bedroom duplex apartment for 2 days. The owner was very helpful, the apartment was serviced daily, we had plenty of towels for everyone. The apartment is very spacious, has modern furnishings and was very clean. The bedroom was big enough to have a portacot at the end of the bed and still room to walk around. The house is set in a very quiet, safe area. The owner even left us chocolates after cleaning the apartment and offered us a late checkout for no extra cost.

Room Tip: The duplex apartment was very large and plenty of room for 2 couples and a toddler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Chateau

Address: 12 Chateau Crescent, Taupo 3370, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falls Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falls Chateau is our showcase boutique accommodation property! Choose from the private suite, private apartment, or Queen rooms. Superbly designed interior is richly decorated in a modern style, with beautiful artwork, yet warm and inviting. Views from the upstairs Apartment and Queen rooms are superb and include snow-capped mountains and the beautiful surroundings of the high-end Huka Falls Resort. Just minutes to downtown Lake Taupo, geothermal attractions and the stunning Huka Falls. Huka Falls Resort offers and excellent restaurant, winery and private vineyard just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Falls Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Chateau Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.