We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic, Tidy and perfect for small travel group.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park to your Saves list
Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park
SH 1, Waitahanui, Taupo 3378, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
1 review
“Economic, Tidy and perfect for small travel group.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011 via mobile

Im writing the review in the lodge. Rich is a very friendly owner. We are all happy with his service. 5 ppl cabin is clean and perfect. Heater is warm enough in the autumn. Economic and perfect for small stay. We are all enjoy the night here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    7
    1
    13
See reviews for
34
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have just warm words to say about Sandy and Richard who is running this caravan park.The hospitality and the way they care about their customers are just unik.
They make You feel like home and you gonna miss the place when you leave!
We booked for one night, it became 13 or so..not in in a row but we came back after some travelling on the south island to.
Windsor Lodge just by the shores of great lake Taupo is an excelent place to have a basecamp for whatever you want to do. The possibillities are huge and there is a lot of things and activities to get into in this beautiful area!
Fishing wich is my biggest interest is awesome! You have the great lake Taupo with big fat trouts and a big amount of very good fishable rivers very close by!

Do the right thing and book at the right place!


Thank you for everything this time Sandy and Richard!!

See you next year!

Room Tip: catch a trout and ask Richard to smoke it for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Our campervan broke down unexpectedly just as we were driving past Windsor Lodge. It was quite late and we were unsure if the office was still open but were immediately welcomed by Rich and shown to our site. From our arrival the owners (Rich and Sandy) were most helpful. They took messages for us from the campervan company who didnt want to call our international number and immediately came to our site to pass them on. They also changed the date of our tickets for the ferry from Wellington to Picton as we were unable to make it in time due to delays in getting a replacement campervan. They went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible and even gave us a bit of a break from our 6 year old son by bringing him for a walk along the beach by the lake.
We still keep in touch with them by email every now and again and class them as friends rather than just people we met on our trip.
Rich even offered to let us stay free of charge on our last night because he said it wasnt our fault the camper broke down but i would not hear of it. I would go out of my way to visit them again if we ever make it back to New Zealand.
I truely wish all campsites/motels had owners like this!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, nz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Cant say enough good things about Rich and Sandy's Windsor Lodge. Excellent hosts. Always up beat and smiling. Make you feel right at home. Quick to help with anything you might need. And great sense of humor. Well maintained/neat lodge - 2 bdrms, full kitchen, tv, nice clean bathroom. Quiet. Only 10 min from Taupo and shops. Right next to gorgeous spring creek surrouned by native bush and excellent walking trails. Tricky fishing though in river but intersection of river and lake across the street from the lodge makes for some very exciting fishing in the evening. Highly suggested place to stay. And the price is very good. Cant' be beat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

An ideal location for those wishing to fish (particularly for superb brown trout). Richard the owner could not have been more helpful,knowledgeable and amenable. He even lent me his fly fishing tackle and introduced me to local fishermen.Friendly,courteous and attentive. Campsite facilities clean and hygenic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The service was fantastic from the minute we arrived! Travelling on your own with 2 toddlers is always going to be HARD work but Rick and Sandy were so helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a fantastic time.

Our cabin was cosy and comfortable and had nice touches like an electric blanket on the double bed. Great shower!!!

We were there for the Ironman and unfortunately it poured with rain the whole time. Rick kindly dried wet clothes for me and even helped me get tired wet children out of the car. Definitely 5 star service at reasonable pricing! I have stayed at numerous properties in Taupo and never experienced service of this level (and it was so geninue too!).

Can definitely see why another reviewer changed their holiday plans to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
levin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

was ok for the value of money. especially with everything in there. Was deffinately not happy with the customer service of the lady at the counter. normally people are friendly in taupo but this was a different cattle of fish altogether. each time i went to ask something she didnt really smile or anything made it hard for me to approach her. Plus she cut me off when it clearly said in the room on the wall ask day before if wanting to depart later and i did go earlier to say that we wanted to check out.

so at the end of the day the stay wasnt as great as would of hoped

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazybrown, Owner at Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Guess we can't win them all but majorly disappointed with this review. Was a difficult couple of days with this guest on site and many apologies were made on their behalf to other guests. Quite loud at times and not mindful of their neighbours at any time. Every discount available to activities was offered (as we do with all visitors) and, upon departure, said she was most happy and would like to return. Bit bizarre and hope we have have not been confused with another provider. Mindful of this feedback, we will go even further in our efforts to make the Lodge a great place to be and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park

Address: SH 1, Waitahanui, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and historical Cabin and Park complex. Self-contained cabins are all 2 bedrooms with full kitchens and en-suites. SKY and Wi-Fi available. Park cabins and powered sites to use Shared Kitchen and Bathrooms. Convenience store on site and personal service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park Hotel Taupo
Windsor Lodge And Caravan Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Lodge & Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.