We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tui Oaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This motor inn is really cozy, the rooms are fully equipped and you have different options to choose from, we took the smallest room but it was also great, with a lake view (although in the lowest floor, i would recommend other floors) service was alright, it has a nice pool but we didnt use it. The staff is great, the couple that manages the hotel is very sweet, they even rised our national flag, it was a lovely touch and hearth warming!. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Motel style room, with all mod cons. Plenty of space for our luggage too! Again - milk provided for our breakfast needs. Just take your own tea bags/cereal.
Lake views from some rooms. Car parking easy. Not far out of the centre for restaurants.
Lots to see in surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed at this Motor Inn 3 times now. It is about 8 minutes walk to town and is good value for money.
But don't forget to ask for the wifi password at reception. We forgot, went into town to watch All Blacks rugby at a bar and then dinner, so by the time we returned to Tui Oaks the reception desk was closed . It closes at 9pm.
all in all, a good place to stay in the heart of Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the family unit (Lake Front unit). It has one double bed, tv, dining table with chairs, kitchen area, fridge and a separate room with two single beds. Everything is in off-white colour and super clean. The motel is within waking distance to the Taupo City Centre (where all the shops, eateries, restaurants are) and five minutes drive to the big supermarket (where we buy our supplies - we cooked our own meals). Our room faces Lake Taupo and we could just walk across the road to enjoy the lake. Our kids swam at the lake, rented paddle boat, and easily walked back to our room at the end of their activities. There is a laundry room at level one. We checked in at the motel after we did trekking at Whakapapa and we had ALOT of dirty laundry. I did a few rounds of washing using the normal washing machine for guests, before Christine, the host, saw me. She then let me use the motel's industrial dryer (which is much bigger and faster and I need only to do one round of drying). Thank you Christine.
Prior to our stay, we asked many questions over the email such as how near is such-a-such a place, what they have there etc. All the time, they gave us detailed information. That made our planning easy. Motel has own parking lots.

We shall definitely stay again at Tui Oaks when we visit Taupo again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This Motel gives very good value for money. The rooms are immaculately clean and serviced daily, facilities are good with a nice little kitchen area. Free wi-fi and daily papers are great. The hosts are really lovely people, friendly and helpful with nothing being a problem.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, whilst travelling through. It was in a great location, on the lake and was a good distance from the town. The pool is outdoor and is very small. We did not try the pool, it was too cold!
The room was small, but clean and had a fridge and tea making facilities. Contact with staff was limited, but they were helpful and friendly. Free WiFi and on site parking was a bonus

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked at the last last minute, this room ticked most of the boxes. It was quiet and comfortable. The view from our room was impeccable. Decor is a little tired but very clean. Bathroom was newer and shower was pretty good. Good value for money - especially with the million dollar view. ten min walk to town. Will recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tui Oaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tui Oaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tui Oaks motel is an eighteen unit motel, set 700 metres away from downtown Taupo along the lake front. From the four storey front block there are superb views across the lake to the mountains at the other end of the lake. There is free off street parking and restaurants and shops within easy walking distances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tui Oaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.