We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the lake front” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tui Oaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right on the lake front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night here, we had a room overlooking the lake with views of the mountains in the distance. Although the room was also overlooked the main highway, the traffic noise wasn't a problem for us. Tidy room but getting a little tired, very pleasant staff, and walking distance from bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As there is now a road for trucks to bypass Taupo, we chose a room with a view of the lake thinking it would be quiet at night. Big mistake as there was still a lot of noise from trucks going through. Our accommodation (lounge area and kitchenette as well as bedroom and bathroom) was OK. Very spacious and clean but definitely looked a bit 'tired' and in need of attention. The bathroom was OK although the bath had a rather large chip in the enamel making it look a bit scruffy. The shower was over the high sided bath and would therefore be hard for some to climb into! There was an oldish looking non-slip bathmat to use which was rolled up on the side of the bath. All in all - a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the couple who run this motel right from the very first email contact to make a booking. Throughout our stay they were very friendly and attentive, even hiding Easter eggs in the unit to the joy of my young children. They provided excellent advice on local activities and managed their way through rowdy young men staying in the motel at the same time. This motel is getting on the tired side and lacks up to date decor etc, but that said its pool and proximity to town were both great. I'd recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We only stayed here for a night but we had a great time. The hosts are lovely and friendly. Our room was on the third floor and was so light and airy - lovely change for a hotel room. Beds were comfy.

Great location. No complaints!

I had a peek into one of the pool side rooms and would definitely recommend 'splurging' on a lakeview room if your budget allows!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I would love to give a great review. However despite lovely staff and view, the bed, or more so, the pillows were very uncomfortable. Hard and flat. Neither of us slept well and it made the next day of driving more tiresome than it needed to be.

The toilet also blocked up. It didn't become a big issue but made you think twice before going.

Also the wifi was really slow, this hasn't been an issue with other motels.

Location is great. View is beautiful. Traffic wasn't an issue. Staff were lovely. Just a shame about the rock hard flat pillows.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Tui Oakes is in the heart of Taupo. The room we had was beautiful with views of the lake & mountains. The managers & staff looked after us so well we stayed 3 extra days. It's just a walk to the cafe strip & shops and every where we went we were treated so well. Ian & Liz, we will DEFINATELY be back again. U guys are awesome & so is the motel. Thank you for making our holiday an absolutely unforgettable one. Good luck to both of you in the future, we miss u guys already !: - ) Mary Anne & Ron, Australia.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you want, for how long you want it and any special needs you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great place to stay with families. We had booked a studio room and on arrival realised it wasnt quite big enough for us. The manager was very happy to show us around at the other options and we are glad she did. We upgraded to a studio room which was PERFECT. Great amenities, great location, very clean and tidy. Short walk into town.
We will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom unit had all the cooking facilities (not modern but did the trick). Worth paying the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tui Oaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tui Oaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.