We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly,modern and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Lakefront Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gables Lakefront Motel to your Saves list
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly,modern and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We wanted to break our journey from Auckland to Napier ,with a night in Taupo,Gables motel was such a great choice.The private hot tub was perfect way to start our holiday .The room had a great little kitchen with everything we needed and more.All the channels on sky TV.we wished we had stayed longer to enjoy it. Hosts of Gables,Penny and Pete were so helpful and friendly .We would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Unit 8 had a private hot tub,a view to the lake ,and parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi munroe123plus1,
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to host you and Scott on your trip to Napier. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotpool and all the new facilities in your unit. Hopefully next time you can stay longer and enjoy our wonderful units with breath taking views across Lake Taupo and beyond to the mountains.
Kind regards,
Peter & Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a pleasure it was to stay here - Jo was friendly, welcoming and helpful (just a pity we lost the cricket!! Jo) We were very comfortable and enjoyed the spa bath in the room. Fabulous view across the lake and close enough to town and restaurants. Just sorry we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jennie N,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review - we really appreciate it. It was an absolute delight to meet you and your husband and hope to see you again one day.
With kind wishes
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great place to stay - they have thought of everything, right down to homemade chocolate chippie biscuits to have with your coffee. Clean and very comfortable - and some have their own spa. Heaven! And an amazing view over the lake looking towards the mountain. We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view - awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mandy H,
Thank you for writing a lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the homemade cookies and the spa. We look forward to seeing you again some day in the future. Take care.
Kind regards,
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at Gables Lakefront Motel 3 or 4 times now while in Taupo on business. The rooms (I've stayed in 3 different rooms) are all immaculate: modern furnishings, generous sized living, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom areas. Nice big TV, heat pump - everything you need. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable, even dropping off the morning newspaper outside my door. The rooms are fairly priced, and great value given the standard. The location is perfect too - right on the lake and close to town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a hot pool, for a small additional price I think. Very nice spa-style pools, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear camdowner,
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate the support of our regular customers and enjoy making their stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we can. We hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice accommodation across the street from Lake Taupo. Very friendly ownership. Nice room with the bonus of an in room hot tub. Not far from the downtown area and restaurants, but having a car is a plus!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear JRLAW10,
What a pleasure to receive your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and your room. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gables Lakefront and we would love to see you back one day.
Kind regards,
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our honeymoon after traveling from Rotorua. The owners were very nice and even upgraded our room. We ended up staying in one of the rooms with the private hot pool - and it was just what we needed. Just that little bit of extra luxury went a long way. The view from the hotel was also great as you overlook the lake. Only problem - we were rained in so the fog was low. However - we love A-frame structures and this just reinforced it.

Even the complimentary apples in the room were great - they inspired us to go out and buy more for the remainder of our trip.

The hotel is not too far from the center of town - but it's also not the closest. We were up for a good walk so it wasn't an issue for us but probably only a 5 minute car ride away.

If you are staying in town - this is a great option.

Room Tip: A hotel room with the hot pool is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ladusky,
We are glad you enjoyed staying at Gables for your honeymoon. We hope you had an enjoyable trip in NZ and safe travels home to California
kind regards
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved the location and the view. Home made biscuits a lovely touch . Guest laundry free to use with an honesty box for washing powder and an ice macine (free). A very pleasant stay would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake views are worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sue J,
Many thanks for your wonderful review - we really appreciate the time you gave in posting it. We hope your trip back to Cairns went well and look forward to seeing you back at Gables one day.
Kind wishes
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Lakefront Motel

Address: 130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gables Lakefront Motel is located on the lakefront at Taupo. The 9 superior one bedroom units have stunning views and each has its own hot pool. The 3 deluxe one bedroom have views of the lake and share a jacuzzi. There are also two, 2 bedroom family units and a 3 bedroom family unit. The family units have access to the jacuzzi. All apartments at Gables have free WiFi access, 43 inch TVs, either king size beds or super kingsize, kitchens or kitchenettes, outdoor furniture and many more facilities. We welcome you at Gables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gables Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Lakefront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.