We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Lakefront Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gables Lakefront Motel to your Saves list
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Te Horo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A wet Monday night and called in at the Gables who only had one unit left, a double room which they gave my wife and I at the studio rate, which was rather nice and saved us then having to make another choice. Reception very quick and thorough and recommended local restaurant for us. As has been mentioned the whole place has been refurbished, although I think the rooms could do with a splash of colour as they are very white. Two bedrooms upstairs and only problem was you had to move the bed in the double room to close the bedroom door. The location definitely is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Chattis,
Thank you for coming to Gables and for posting your review. Unfortunately Queens Birthday weekend is extremely busy in Taupo and all the superior one bedroom units were occupied. Our manager very kindly accommodated you in a two bedroom family unit at the one bedroom deluxe rate. This unit includes a lovely super king size bed.
Kind regards Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    51
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
127
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just 3 nights at The Gables and was very impressed. Had a deluxe room (15) with own hot tub. The entire unit has recently been refurbished and was very clean with everything I could want...even a dishwasher! Really clean, comfortable and with cold nights the efficient heating was great as was the heated blanket.
With bedroom at the back of the unit I wasn't bothered by road noise at all but the living room looks straight out onto lake. Used the laundry facilities ...all good.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was in unit 15 which is at one end but all rooms had lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear 868Alison
Many thanks for your lovely review and also for selecting Gables as your Taupo accommodation.
It is great that you enjoyed the hot tub, the heating system and also the dishwasher and electric blanket. All the one bedroom units have the bedroom at the rear which guarantees a peaceful night's sleep.
We hope to see you again one day, best wishes
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in unit 13 - nicely refurbished, modern furnishings including a dish drawer and efficient heat pump. The plunge pool is a lovely feature as are the nice views across the lake. The owners are extremely customer focused and a pleasure to deal with. An excellent place to stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Angela H,
Many thanks for posting your beaut review, it means a great deal to us.
The Heat pumps are fabulous for heating up the room quickly, we are glad you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you again one day.
Kind wishes
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Awesome lil spot right on the lakefront ... close too town with awesome views! Shame about the weather but that can't be helped.

Studio room with private plunge pool/spa amazing! Reasonable prices considering the area but the spa ... mmmmm perfect!

Owners are extremely friendly and welcoming with no booking! Id HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here when in the mighty Taupo. Keep up the good work guys!

Only thing to mention was the fluctuation in the shower . Hot cold hot cold nevertheless can't really fault the place .. will be back 100%

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear QTD
Many thanks for your great review and also for choosing to stay at Gables. It is great to have people from Queenstown here in Taupo. We sort of see ourselves as the Queenstown of the north!
Glad you enjoyed the hot pool. We have our fabulous plumber, Geoff, checking out the fluctuation in the water for that unit. It just seems to be that one and does not happen to any others. We hope you enjoyed the Bose speaker we have in that unit (about to be rolled out to all the others).
Safe travels home
Kind regards Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely room, extremely clean with all the amenities you need. Great comfy bed and a lovely bonus with the hot tub!! Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough. Wish we could've stayed longer, will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Lucy and Robert,
Thank you for much for your kind words, the team here at Gables really appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the superior one bedroom with the hot pool.
We wish you could've stayed longer too! We look forward to seeing you back in Taupo.
With kind wishes
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Gables with a big group this time, but will definitely be back for a family weekend escape - soon! Lovely, perfectly clean, recently re-decorated rooms with great kitchen facilities, very comfortable beds and to-die-for views of the lake. Our room didn't have a spa but some of the others do and the kids loved that - but they actually swam in the Lake in the crisp May temperatures! Jo and Gray are such lovely hosts, from the fresh fruit and homemade delicious biscuits through to providing everything we needed to cook multiple BBQ meals for our big group of hungry teens! The walk from Gables into town is the perfect length, straight, and flat along the lakeside. Taupo is such a perfect break away from Wellington - and being right in the centre of the country it's so close to everything, and a stunning holiday destination at all times of the year (skiing trips, trout fishing, chilling out - that's what takes us there!). We'll be back at Gables next time for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear B E,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and also for coming to Gables to stay. It was an absolute delight to have you and your group at Gables. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing you.
The young people were very impressive - as was the organisation skills displayed by the parents!
We will look forward to seeing you again.
With very kind wishes Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at Gables last night. Had a lovely evening. Beautiful views from the motel. Pristinely clean and good design with the bedroom at the back, so no road noise. Just what we were looking for. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Richard,
many thanks for posting your review and for choosing Gables.
We are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet and found it so relaxing.
with kind regards Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Lakefront Motel

Address: 130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gables Motel is located on the lakefront at Taupo. The 9 superior one bedroom units have stunning views and each has its own hot pool. The 3 deluxe one bedroom have views of the lake and share a jacuzzi. There are also two, 2 bedroom family units and a 3 bedroom family unit. The family units have access to the jacuzzi. All apartments at Gables have free WiFi access, 43 inch TVs, either king size beds or super kingsize, kitchens or kitchenettes, outdoor furniture and many more facilities. We welcome you at Gables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gables Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Lakefront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.