We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Lakefront Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gables Lakefront Motel to your Saves list
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Unfortunately the weather in Taupo was rainy, wet and windy but the Gables was a great place to stay! Located a minutes drive from the centre and just across the road from the lake it was perfect.
We had booked a room with a hot tub and it was amazing! However I would suggest some dressing gowns for guests who have a hot tub! Rooms were nicely decorated also. Would stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Claire, Thanks for the lovely feedback and for staying with us. The weather has been great here in Taupo, so a pity you struck a not so good day.
Every day looking at the lake is a good one, and hopping into the hot pool a great way to warm up.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Gray and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    51
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
127
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when touring Taupo. It is just minutes drive from the city centre where the restaurants, shops and supermarkets are situated. Huka falls is 10 minutes drive away. The lodge faces Lake Taupo and the view is simply amazing during evening time when the setting sun bathes the sky in colours of pink, purple and gold. There are tables and benches set up in front of the lodge and one can simply sit there the whole morning and drink tea, while watching the black swans, ducks and seagulls on the lake. The lodge has a fully equipped kitchenette and a hot pool is available as well. Bliss!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi David,

Thanks for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed Gables so much. The outdoor seating is a great spot to watch the gorgeous scenery. We have put up lots of photos of the sunset on our Facebook page. The scenery is always changing it is a wonderful sight.

Thanks for visiting we hope to see you again.
kind regards
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

While travelling the North Island, and after a hard night, sleep was a priority over getting to my destination. I asked about accomidation here, prices etc. It was probably a little over my budget, but the lady told me to compare prices with hotels around. As the prices were comparatively similar, I decided to come back. Rooms were clean and exactly what I needed. The couch was very comfortable, because I slept on it all night. Thank you very much. Would recommend to stay. And would stay again if I were to come back to New Zealand.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your stay, it was nice to meet you. We are glad you enjoyed your break here and was well rested before you headed off again. It is a great place to relax in and the newly installed Sky 50 plus channels are beaut if you just want to unwind and watch a movie or sport.
We hope you will come and see us next time you visit from Australia.
Kind regards
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights here. The room was tastefully decorated with all the mod cons, and very clean.It was great having the private hot pool, which was very relaxing for both of us. Very friendly hosts. Great location with lake across the road, and lovely views of the mountains. We wish we could have stayed longer. Cant wait to come back again!! We will spread the word to family and friends to stay at Gables if they are passing through or would like just a short break away. Thankyou Jo and Gray for your hospitality. We will see you again.!!

Room Tip: "Make sure you get a room with your own private hot pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jane,
It was lovely having you and your sister here. We are glad you enjoyed the fab new superior one bedroom apartments. The new kitchens and bathrooms are great, along with Sky 50 plus channels. Thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate it and will look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully one day soon.
Kind wishes
Gray and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

great location with lake across the road and snow capped mountains on the horizon - lovely people who got the extra mile to be helpful. Also a lovely and easy 10min stroll along the lake's edge to Taupo township .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your review and for coming to stay at Gables.
The view of the lake and the mountains is just magic. There have been many guests sitting at the outside tables enjoying the view and a refreshment. Many guests have enjoyed a day up the mountain as well.
We look forward to seeing you again at Gables.
Best wishes Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pro's: good location, quiet, nice hosts, big tv, comfy bed, clean, good private hot pool, great views of lake and mountains, nice outside area to sit.
Con's: very tired bathroom, shower head way too low (ok if you're under 5'4") and old style single pressure, kitchenette also very tired with doors hard to shut, paper thin walls to next units, dated decor.
Overall the pros outweighed the cons but I reckon it's in need of a makeover with the bathroom and shower in particular way below what I'd expect for the rate. Unfortunately that would put us off a revisit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi MF,
Thanks for coming to visit us last weekend and for your feedback. The one bedroom superior units are in the middle of an upgrade (installation of new kitchen and bathrooms). We have completed 3 of the 6 superior units and will be upgrading the remaining 3 before Christmas (this includes the one you were in).
All the furniture in all our units is less than 9 months old, as is the bedding, curtains, lampshades etc..
People all comment on how quiet the units are as they are built from concrete blocks so it is hard to hear anyone next door.
The beds are great, with the hot pools and stunning views and location it is a fabulous place to be, we are glad you liked it.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Gables after the upgrade is complete.
Kind regards
Jo and Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Gables a couple of times, as well as several other Taupo motels. The view of the lakes and mountains is a huge drawcard for me, but now that I've slept in one of the new beds, I can't wait to go back again! It was the most comfortable bed I've been in ever.
The motel was super clean. I had more tv channels than I could possibly need. I was warm, even though it was a cold night outside.
Loved it all, including the friendly host.
Debbie

Room Tip: Get great coffee from the mobile cafe across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoGables, Owner at Gables Lakefront Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi
Thanks for the great review and for visiting us from Brisbane. The view is just magic, we hope you will be back again soon to enjoy it.
kind regards
Gray and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Lakefront Motel

Address: 130 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gables Motel is located on the lakefront at Taupo. The 9 superior one bedroom units have stunning views and each has its own hot pool. The 3 deluxe one bedroom have views of the lake and share a jacuzzi. There are also two, 2 bedroom family units and a 3 bedroom family unit. The family units have access to the jacuzzi. All apartments at Gables have free WiFi access, 43 inch TVs, either king size beds or super kingsize, kitchens or kitchenettes, outdoor furniture and many more facilities. We welcome you at Gables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gables Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Lakefront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.