We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Executive Motel to your Saves list
Executive Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   114 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Taupo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Value for your money at Executive motel in Taupo, clean room with small kitchen, free wifi, front row at the lake and friendly staff. Short walk to restaurants and shops in downtown Taupo. Laundry is also possible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
45
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in downstairs, twin unit. Good amount of space, clean and well equipped kitchen area, very clean bathroom. Unit quiet, windows could be left open for fresh air, and beds comfortable. Would stay again.
Word of caution - check the shower head before using and adjust if necessary. The unit we stayed in had one of those odd dial shower controls which has a set pressure (so you can't turn it on to just a trickle), but also had an adjustable shower head which seemed to have been set to 'exterminate', result - a tremendous blast of freezing cold water to the first victim or water everywhere if turned on while the door is open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stay here after a bad experience in Turangi, the hotel is small but confortable. The room was clean with a great bathroom where we found a hydro-massage bathtube...the girl at reception was very polite and help us to book a table in one restaurant in Taupo.
Good location near the wonderful lake!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in room 8 which had a slightly larger balcony which was down the side of the property but still had a view of the lake and had lovely afternoon sun. Room was clean and tidy; king bed, kichenette & spa bath. Free wifi was available and off-site car parking.

Room Tip: Room 8 was on the top floor and had the slightly extended balcony (not private)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family has been coming here for years! Sometimes it's just Mom and the Kids... sometimes it's me and a couple girlfriends, and this past time it was me and the hubby! No matter what the occasion, this place NEVER disappoints! Ms. Jeannie couldn't give a more friendly "welcome" and the housekeeping staff (this particular time, Ms. Sarah) couldn't make the room nicer. Not a whole lot of frills, but for the price.... you couldn't ask for a cleaner, more convenient place to stay! This is a gem!!!!! As far as the reviews listed earlier about "partiers" and noise... absolutely no more than any other place in Ocean City.... and this past week we were there during "bike week" and it was, yet again.... a perfect stay!!! Like I said... our family has been coming here for years and with Ms. Jeannie making us feel like family, the location being so convenient to EVERYTHING, the price fitting any budget and the cleanliness being top notch... we won't stay anywhere else!!!! See you in 2013!!!!!!


Bruce and Monica (Molly) Martin ... and family!!!!!! (and friends!!!!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

So my 8yr old daughter and I needed somewhere to stay for just one night while we had some Taupo fun. We chose the Executive Motel on the lakefront. Not sure how many executives stay there but we felt pretty special all the same.

Highlights were: friendly and down-to-earth host, good car-parking, impeccably clean unit, awesome spa-bath, great furniture and kitchen utensils.

Lowlights: noisy heater; old school electric fan style with no thermostat (they use crazy amounts of power too) – impossible to sleep with, message to owners – instal enono-heaters with thermostats that are quiet, efficient, and cheap – probably under $200 for each room! Only other complaint was in the unit we had we had to hear plumbing rushing through from other units. Oh, and the Sky movie channel was fuzzy and there were no channels for kids.

Overall, 8/10. Will return if the heaters are quietened.

Room Tip: Ask about the rushing plumbing and make sure the heater is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed one night and loved this motel. We stayed upstairs and was lovely relaxing on the balcony overlooking the lake sipping our wine. Close proximity to the main shopping area but be careful about parking longer than the stated time as the discs on the ground under the car let the parking attendant know you have overstayed your time. The room was spacious and clean and the spa bath great for a relaxing treat. Car park available at rear of motel units.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs as better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Motel

Address: 114 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo Executive Motel is the perfect accommodation for business travelers and couples wanting a tranquil, safe and secure environment. Our spacious spotless quiet modern units with tasteful decor,and quality furnishings also have outdoor tables and chairs for relaxing ensuring your stay will leave you refreshed and revived. All 11 units face away from the road - minimizing road noise and helping you get a great night's sleep. With views of the lake from the upstairs balcony you can relax with a glass of wine and hear the gentle waves of Lake Taupo as they come to shore. The main Taupo town centre, with its excellent dining and shopping facilities is located only 800 metres away. All units are serviced daily, and we provide an in-room breakfast service. All units are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Executive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.