We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Lake Motel
56 Lake Terrace, | PO Box 221, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

A friendly place, well located for the town and lakeside walks. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Well-equipped kitchens. Reasonable value in Taupo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

When my friend and I arrived in Taupo, we drove around and enquired about the rates. Other motels were more expensive and we were told that we would not find a motel within our budget in Taupo. We stopped at Great Lake Motel and after receiving a generous discount, we were able to stay in this stunning motel. The location is excellent. The rooms are spotless, the washing machine and tumble dryer could be used at no extra costs. Definitely the place to stay when you are in Taupo.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Our family stumbled upon this motel when our other accommodation in Taupo didn't work out, so we were feeling a bit desperate. We drove along the lakeside strip featuring lots of motels and was pleasantly surprised to find this one. We have a two bedroom apartment unit with kitchenette, two single beds plus one queen bed, and it was only $150/night! I also liked how they have a washer and dryer that guests can use for free. It's easy walking distance to town, park and restaurants.
For more North Island tips, please see our family travel blog away-together.com and search New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked to stay here 4 nights whilst we had guests over from UK, as we had stayed here before and it has always been lovely.

Seems a lot has changed since we were last there 2 years ago. Whilst the rooms are always clean and tidy, they are getting quite tired. Our bed was incredibly soft, and the mattress dipped in the middle. by the third day we all had terrible back-ache! There was also an issue with lights shining in from the neighbouring motel, as some windows did not have drapes or blinds. The water pressure in the shower was also little more than a trickle.

On a positive note, the location is fantastic and reasonably quiet. Wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Motel

Address: 56 Lake Terrace, | PO Box 221, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 self-contained motel units, studio and one bedroom, situated only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. There are also 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom lakefront apartments. Some units have large spa baths, all units have a kitchen with microwave, hotplates, fridge and kitchen utensils. Sky TV is available as well as Freeview channels. We are across the road from lovely Lake Taupo with views to the mountains, but only the apartments get uninterrupted views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Lake Motel to your Saves list