We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, 2 min stroll in to town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Lake Motel
56 Lake Terrace, | PO Box 221, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 71 hotels in Taupo
NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, 2 min stroll in to town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our second stay here this year. Room 14 again! You can lie in bed and catch a glimpse of the lake across the road. Our room had a queen bed, single bed, fridge, microwave, cooktop stove, all expected kitchen things, huge bathroom, iron etc.

Other reviews indicate that furnishings are old but that isn't the case. Note that we stayed in the Motel section. Right next door are the apartments which we haven't been in. Paid about NZ$140.00 per night.

Location cannot be beaten. You can walk in to town in 2 minutes. The Lake is directly across the road.

WI-FI: just go down to reception for your 'slip of paper' which will give you the password and 2hrs each day. Free!

EATING: at the back of the Motel, walk across the road for Burger King, Golden Arches and Liquor stores! Another five minutes strolling and there are lots of nice restaurants. Try the Thai one!

THINGS TO DO: walk down to the jetty where the Waikato River commences its journey. Book a 2hr boat ride out on the lake, helicopter flight, trout fishing. For TRAMPERS like ourselves, drive up Spa Rd and just past the Bungy Jumping site, turn left to a car park. You can walk to the Huka Falls from here, along an easy track, takes one hour each way. Very worthwhile. Once you reach the falls, you can continue in the same direction, for another two hours (one way) to Aratiatia Dam. We didn't have time to do this.

We went to De Brett's hot pools. Very nice. Not cheap. NZ$20.00 each. There was a family rate though. You could try the AC baths.

So much to do and so little time! Stay at least five nights in Taupo. The longer you are there, the more you find to do. Taupo has a population of 22,000 so not a big place. Very easy to find your way around.

GETTING THERE: this trip we flew in to Rotorua, direct from Sydney! Easy! Rotorua Airport has been 'International' since Dec. 2009. It's a tiny little airport. Within 25mins of landing, we had cleared Customs, picked up our hire car and were en route to Taupo. It took 55 mins driving to get to Taupo, a beautiful, easy trip. I believe flights are only Saturdays and Tuesdays from Sydney (Virgin/Air NZ). If you are looking for a week away or even a few days, this is a great little getaway. No stress other than the trials and tribulations of Sydney Airport!!

Room Tip: Room 14, gives you a glimpse of the Lake from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to Taupo for a weekend to get away. We wanted to be close to town and this was perfect. Close to bottle shop and restaurants. We ended up gettting Indian, who the manager refered and it was great! Plus a bottle of wine and we stayed in as it was a very cold night.

The room is large, with celan well equiped kitchenette, the bed linen is good quality and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, although yes I agree with the frosted window next to the toilet which backs onto another hotel, so people can see you "sitting" or "standing" at night with the light on. Very large spa bath that was satisfactory alothough it did have some some poor grout work, but really that didnt bother us. We were very satisfied with the warm room and the Managers were very poite and freindly!

One thing that was out of anyones control was there a large Loud inconsiderate group of people staying at the Motel who chose to ruin our stay completly, by having a domestic until 4.00am in the morning! We went home tired not rested!

Would still stay here again it was good vlue for money.

Room Tip: Possibly choose a room upstairs so you dont get muffled foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for business. Was booked by work mate. The room was just massive. Much larger than what would be defined as standard NZ motel room. A real nice touch was the heater already on when the weather was absolute rubbish. Well done to who ever did that.
The biggest let down was the bathroom. Frosted windows right next to the toilet. I'd rather not have anyone on the outside have any idea of what natural business I'm doing. Overall cleanliness was very poor. Given that I have a completely shaved head, how can there be hairs etc in the shower, hairs on the towels, hairs on the hand basin??? Honestly disgusting. The bathroom itself is very much showing its age. Tile work and repairs that look like they were done by a retarded and blind chimpanzee with a very bad tick!! One point for first timers, the car park is extremely small and very hard to get a park. If you get one, don't move your car.
The biggest redeeming feature of this motel is its location. Literally a 5 minute or less walk to the main part of the town. And out the front of the motel, right on the doorstep to the lake. Great views for the tourists.

Room Tip: Was upstairs so didn't get any noise from others using the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Arrived late in the day and proprietors were very helpful and friendly. Room was spacious, comfortable and immaculate with great views across the lake. Location is close to wide range of dining options but still remains peaceful. Highly recommend to others. The Indian Restaurant nearby (easy to find as its the nearest Indian restaurant, and its on the first floor overlooking the lake) serves a great goat curry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a one bedroom unit. Staff were friendly and helpful. Unit was clean, comfortable and spacious - nicely appointed bedroom with comfortable bed; lounge area with TV, sofa, and small kitchenette with crockery, cutlery, microwave and hobs; and a clean bathroom.

Best thing about this motel is the location. It's right next to the centre of town, within stumbling distance of restaurants, bars and shops, but not so in the thick of things as to be noisy. And as you walk out of the front of the motel, there's the lake right in front of you (albeit on the other side of the road). Perfect for evening strolls along the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This place was great. I was there with my aunt and uncle and our unit and a double room, single room, kitchen bathroom, private jacuzzi and access to a mineral spa pool and heated outdoor pool.....all for the great price of only $179pn. The room was clean, comfortable and the views stunning!

Room Tip: The only reason I never marked the pool as excellent is that it was small - although perfecft for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great location very close to the shops. The apartment we stayed in was no 4 which was an end one .Views of the lake and a nice outdoor area where we enjoyed breakfast in the sun. The beds were very comfortable, the apartment spacious. Missed having a full length mirror. The towels were great but would have liked a vanity in the bathroom. Toiletries had to be kept on the floor underneath the pedestal basin or on a high shelf on the wall behind. Cigarette butt and leaves on upstairs balcony, a few cobwebs and black rims round toilets but on the whole not too bad and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Motel

Address: 56 Lake Terrace, | PO Box 221, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 self-contained motel units, studio and one bedroom, situated only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. There are also 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom lakefront apartments. Some units have large spa baths, all units have a kitchen with microwave, hotplates, fridge and kitchen utensils. Sky TV is available as well as Freeview channels. We are across the road from lovely Lake Taupo with views to the mountains, but only the apartments get uninterrupted views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Lake Motel to your Saves list