We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcylcle trip highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitahanui Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waitahanui Lodge
Save
You added Waitahanui Lodge to your Saves list
116 State Highway One | Taupo, Taupo 3778, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Motorcylcle trip highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent 5 days on a motorcycle trip with a friend, two bikes and a lot of mileage. Did considerable research and stayed in great places. Waitahanui Lodge was not on the agenda. We had passed the lodge on many occasions on fishing trips and this time decided to stay the night. What a fantastic, brilliant surprise!!! Position: simply CAN NOT be bettered around the lake. Off season so the two apartments on the waterfront were available, which we took. Decks literally metres from the waters edge. Little protected courtyards for reading away from any breeze. This is a wonderful authentic place to stay. Its not a marble clad vacuum but it is really fantastic. Great fishing 100 metres away. They are very well equipped with everything you need. Spotlessly clean. Cant recommend this place enough. I have been visiting Taupo for 20 years and I cannot believe I havn't actually discovered it before. Just brilliant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waitahanui, Owner at Waitahanui Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you James and all the others who have posted comments on our page. We are constantly reminded by guests how lucky we are to be caretakers of such a beautiful piece of New Zealand history. Places to stay this close to the lake are rare and we are determined to preserve these classic "kiwiana" baches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here in early Nov in 2012. We had booked the unit #3, but since someone had cancelled, Sue (the owner) let us choose between units #3 and #4, which was very nice of her. We took #4 since it was maybe better for our daughter. Either would have been nice, since both units are just a few meters from the lake Taupo. The view from our window / glass door was quite spectacular. The place is very basic but has tons of character. Got some rental fly fishing gear from Roger and landed a nice rainbow from Schoolmasters pool right nearby the lodge. So fishing was good too! Would recommend to anyone planning to go fishing here or looking for peaceful accommodation right on the shore of lake Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the lodge over Easter weekend with our two dogs! Was so nice to find somewhere that was in a great location and was pet friendly! Unit was basic but had everything you needed. I will definately be going back again :)

Room Tip: Although we did not have a lake front room we were only 100 metres or so away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I happened upon this place purely by chance A real find. I stayed in Unit 1 (older and closest to the road) which has a lot of character and a really bach-type feel. The managers were very friendly and helpful and it was so much nicer than staying in a motel. The place has a very interesting history and retains a lot of charm through sensitive refurbishment and decoration. Next time I will be booking one of the lakeside units...

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A friendly welcome on arrival from the owner. The unit was just lovely - perfectly cosy old-school bach with a brand new bathroom. Impeccably clean and tidy. Stunning view of the lake. Less than a ten minute drive to Taupo town centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were traveling by the seat of our pants from Waitaomo cave area to Taupo, arrived late in the day and they had an Iron Man trials going on....nothing avialable, so we headed toward the south end of the lake and ran into these Waitahanui Lodges! Another amazing stroke of luck on our journey through NZ. 5 minutes from Taupo and right in the thick of the fishing which is the reason we were in NZ to start with! The first two nights, we stayed in Lodge #2 which was quite large with two bedrooms and a full kitchen. NOT fancy, just simple accomodations with all you need. This unit was connected to the boiler room via the back door, where you could hang out with other guests, BBQ, do laundry or play a game of cards or darts. They also had a fish cleaning station and a guest use smoker here for your catches. Yeah! The weather was terrible, and so as soon as the front unit along the lake (#3) became available, we snagged it up and watched the lake churn like an ocean. It was nice watching the storms come across the lake, the ducks and the silly people swimming in the rain! This unit is literally 15 steps to the water...at most! There is a long sandy beach running both ways from the place and the Waitahanui River, famous for it's fishing is only about 50 yards away. Unit 4 is also water front, but the whole place is truly lake front! If you are suseptable to traffic noise, as I am, I wouldn't stay in Unit 1 or 5, but with everything closed up because of the cold weather it didn't bother me at night. There are only 5 units and all have kitchens, BBQ's and are very reasonably priced. They also have another Freezer and Refrigerator in the boiler room for guests use.
A wonderful couple, Roger and Sue are running the place and they really bent over backwards to make us comfortable. Sue is a cleaning machine, and seems to be everywhere at once! I wanted to take her home with me! Roger is also quite the fisherman and was great at helping us out in picking our gear (there is a fishing tackle shop in the front office which even the locals use) and giving us tips on where to try our luck. There are herbs planted all around the place that guests are free to use, and Kayaks and a row boat that you can rent. Overall a fantastic experience and we ended up staying 5 days!

Room Tip: Ask for units 3 or 5....lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Read Craigs review & decided to stay outside of Taupo - thanks Craig, best decision I have made in a long time. Truly brilliant & the most relaxing short holiday we have had since I can't remember when. If you like formulaic motels & the coffee shop scene this is wasted on you, or rather you are wasted on it. A real touch of the past, definately nostalgia without the bad bits & clearly managed by people who love what they do. We will be back.

Room Tip: Waterfront Bach 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waitahanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitahanui Lodge

Address: 116 State Highway One | Taupo, Taupo 3778, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitahanui Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.