We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnighter, but maybe more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   56 Rifle Range Road | P.O. Box 2149, Taupo 3351, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kapiti, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great overnighter, but maybe more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Beechtree Suites as a break in our journey from Wellington to Auckland. This was our first time here. The property was very quiet yet within easy walking distance to the lakefront and the town. It is well placed opposite a block of food stores covering most needs.

The room was very well presented with full cable TV service, ample bathroom space and the usual kitchenette facilities. A little outside sitting area enabled a fresh air relax. Free Wifi complemented the overall experience. We would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We really appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It will be certainly our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay perhaps, when you next visit Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    136
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
244
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
various
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent decor, facilities, host and location. This motel is quiet but close enough for a 10 minute stroll into town. It is very stylish, modern and well equipped, a cut above many places at the same price range.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with a small outdoor area, they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I do hope that we will see you back at Beechtree Suites again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nz
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well built, centrally located motel. Modern, clean and well run with efficient and polite staff.

Plus marks for real cafetiere coffee in the kitchen, a great bathroom and comfy bed. Also for having something even the cheapest US motel has - an ice machine. For some reason very rare to find in NZ motels, so top marks as that is a very useful thing to have!

Negatives? Not many. Room curtains let far too much light through and need blackout linings. Aircon unit looked a bit old (may be pre refurb?) and was somewhat noisy.

Soundproofing is unusually good for NZ buildings too - you cannot hear much at all through the walls. Good job on that for a peaceful sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Beechtree Suites Taupo it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience at our property and that you enjoyed the free plunger coffee and the ice machine. I appreciate your feedback regarding our friendly staff and will share this with the team. We hope to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had 4 people and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, that came with a kitchenette, living room and huge outdoor balcony (great for breakfast!).

Pros: Everything about the place looks new, modern and very clean (hallways, interior of room, bathroom, all electronics), friendly staff, 3 mins walk to the lake and 3 mins drive to city centre, cheap same day laundry (NZ$15 per load, no weight limit), free internet, free car parking, good security (security cameras in hallways, and sensor lighting at night).

Cons: The hotel is not directly located on/facing the lake (if you desire a lake view), there are no elevators and no concierge, so expect to take the luggage to your own room, there is no "Do Not Disturb" sign available so your room WILL be cleaned every day. Personally, I found sponges to be best for washing dishes, but only a scrubbing brush was provided. The dishwashing liquid seemed very watered down (the economics don't make sense, because you just end up using a lot more!).

Beechtree Suites is actually a motel in terms of the physical set up, but because they have done almost everything right it feels like you're staying at a great 4 star hotel. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Beechtree Suites and with the weather being so fantastic it was certainly an ideal time to take advantage of the balcony for outdoor dining! We really appreciate all your positive feedback and I will delight in sharing this with our team. Please be assured all other comments are being considered with possible changes for future complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fabulous place, fabulous people!
Spotlessly clean and brilliantly appointed
Beechtree Suite is perfectly placed for everything that is 'Taupo'... And a trip to JJ,s !
JJ,s is a smashing restaurant in Taupo
Good luck! Bumble

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to Beechtree Suites. We appreciate the effort, but also your kind and positive words. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience, appreciated Taupo, and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the motel easily via the web and found the receptionist friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and modern. We ate at The Brantry just across the road which was very convenient as the motel is a little way from the centre of town. This was one of the first motels we visited and is on reflection maybe a little expensive for the room and position of the motel. Overall a lovely stay and good accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. As you say the Brantry Restaurant is ideally located just across the street from us making it very convenient for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was just a one night stopover on our tour. The motel was totally satisfactory for one night, but I would not have wanted to stay longer. It's one of those modern places with the ugly architecture that New Zealand seems to like. There is a variety of rooms, but I can only comment on the one we had, which was small and efficient, with the proper accessible bathroom we had requested. The room would have been claustrophobic had it not been for the opening door to the nice quiet little terrace at the back. Reception was friendly, parking right outside the room. Five minutes walk to the lake, no traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback following your recent stay with us at Beechtree Suites Taupo. I appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. Architectural differences aside, as you have mentioned our Courtyard Queen Shower Studios do offer a lovely private courtyard, these studios are also the smallest of the rooms we have available and they are also the lowest priced. I am pleased the accessible shower suited your requirements and that the parking was convenient. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road | P.O. Box 2149, Taupo 3351, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Suites offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.