We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley)
494 Orakei Korako Road | Rd 2, Reporoa, Taupo, New Zealand
+64 7-378 3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Taupo
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orakei Korako Geothermal Park & Cave is a stunning geothermal attraction located off the beaten track between Taupo and Rotorua. Described by the Lonely Planet Guide as "arguably the best geothermal area left in New Zealand", Orakei Korako brings you into a world of gushing geysers, bubbling mud pools, and some of the largest and most amazing silica terraces in the world.
Hobart
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a very interesting walk around geothermal activity area. Lots to see and lots of different types of activity (boiling water, mud, steam). The walk was mostly flatish, with only a small amount of upward climb.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrakeiKorako, Guest Relations Manager at Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Nicole, thanks so much for your comments, and we're happy to hear you found the walk around the geothermal features of Orakei Korako so interesting. We've worked hard to allow visitors to see as much as possible, and it's great to know you particularly enjoyed admiring the different types of geothermal activity. All the best for the rest of your time in New Zealand. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    136
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced. .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

$35 to sit in a boat for 45 seconds to cross a tiny lake. The walk is interesting if you are fascinated by geology.
There is no extra guide or history stuff. . Boring other wise. We walked it in under 45 mins and got out of there... sorry for $70 poorer and 90 minutes (incl travel time) later getting home

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrakeiKorako, Guest Relations Manager at Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Kia ora Rick, thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Orakei Korako as much as you were hoping to. We believe the $36 adult admission price fairly reflects the work that goes into making a visit to the Hidden Valley a safe and enjoyable experience. Many of our visitors say they've really enjoyed taking their time on the walkways to admire the geysers, mud pools, the stunning colours of the silica terraces and the geothermal cave at leisure, and that they've found the history and information provided on the panels scattered throughout the park a has been very interesting and informative. Additional information and a full history of the site are available in the Visitor Centre. We really value feedback from visitors and would love to hear any suggestions you have for improving our offering. All the best for the rest of your travels. Kind regards, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarwin Lower, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The whole place is amazing - cannot fault. Well worth the drive.
Unfortunately for us, it was very busy the day we went.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrakeiKorako, Guest Relations Manager at Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Jenni, thanks so much for your lovely comments, and it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Orakei Korako so much! We strive to provide visitors with a geothermal experience that's second to none, and it's great to know you couldn't find fault with your trip. All the best for the rest of your time in New Zealand, and we'd love to welcome you back one day. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A good choice in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A range of features: layout and site very good; but a lot of steps so not for mobility issues. Not too expansive and plenty of parking but you need sat nav to find it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrakeiKorako, Guest Relations Manager at Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Cal, many thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you enjoyed the range of geothermal wonders on display at Orakei Korako. It is a little off the beaten track, but many visitors have found the turn by turn directions provided on our website to be very useful if they don't have navigation devices in their vehicles. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand, and would love to welcome you back to the Hidden Valley one day. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nature as nature intended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is safe envioronment, with excellent pathways, and great natural attraction. If you go in the summer and on a hot day, remeber a sunhat and sun screen, as the attraction is already warm, as well as sun in the middle of the day can be a really hot. Worth the trip though

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrakeiKorako, Guest Relations Manager at Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Kia ora Peter... thanks for your feedback, and it's wonderful to hear you found Orakei Korako a great natural attraction! We've worked hard to develop and maintain our pathways to provide a safe experience that's as close to nature as possible, and are happy to hear it's appreciated. All the best for the rest of your time down here in the volcanic plateau, and we hope to welcome you back to the Hidden Valley someday. Kind regards, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley) also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.