We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and very well done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley)

Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley)
494 Orakei Korako Road | Rd 2, Reporoa, Taupo, New Zealand
+64 7-378 3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Taupo
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orakei Korako Geothermal Park & Cave is a stunning geothermal attraction located off the beaten track between Taupo and Rotorua. Described by the Lonely Planet Guide as "arguably the best geothermal area left in New Zealand", Orakei Korako brings you into a world of gushing geysers, bubbling mud pools, and some of the largest and most amazing silica terraces in the world.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and very well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rarely do you come across an attraction that is so well planned and executed. Yes, it's quite expensive, but you don't mind paying when it's so good. Excellent cafe ( proper teapots!).spectacular setting on a lake, well signed , safe, and informative.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    136
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Beautiful natural setting to see geysers, bubbling mud pools, and a cave. Great customer service. Fabulous staff. Very warm, friendly and very helpful. Even drew a map and gave us directions for us for our travels! Not as commercial as all the other places. This is the best one to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really cool place to visit, you take a short boat trip and walk through the large thermal park which is a really well designed loop. Very cool views of active geothermal activity. A must do if you are in the area!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A stunning natural setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A scenic drive lead us to this special place also know as the hidden valley. We arrived early in the morning driving from Taupo on route to Rotorua. We noted we could have stayed overnight in our camper van.
A short boat ride takes you across to the site and already it feels special. Clearly marked board walks lead you around the site which has informative information boards which even label the plants and trees. The colours are wonderful and it was nice to experience the steam and geysers as well as mud pools in a natural setting. Could easily imagine dinosaurs in his magic setting.
After our return boat trip we enjoyed a coffee in this pleasant peaceful setting. So pleased we followed the recommendation we had read and we wern't disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Natural setting and Geothermals - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It rained and we thought we'd have a wasted visit but because there is no manufactured experience it was great to see all the mud pools geysers and the whole place is well worth a visit. You are taken across by boat and can walk around the site at your own pace.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley) also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orakei Korako Cave and Thermal Park (The Hidden Valley), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.