We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Prince Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Prince Motor Lodge
Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We drove to Taupo without accommodation and rang en route from Hamilton after seeing it in a Guide.
We had a Room facing the side street, king bed, very comfortable and clean room. Parking at door. Our view consisted of two concrete trucks parked on the grass outside the Motel. Thankfully we didn't hear them leave.
The lady in the Office was helpful and kindly showed us where other eating places were.
Only one night in Taupo and only one small complaint, didn't like large bathroom windows facing carparking area where other guests were sitting having a drink after dark. Felt a blind in there would have been appropriate at night. Otherwise bathroom large with shower, no spa or bath.
However, would happily recommend the Motel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
22
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A great place to stay - such friendly, welcoming people. It was rather chilly the weekend we were there, having the underfloor heating was sooo cozy. I really enjoyed the spa bath, I certainly relaxed in it. The rooms are soo clean and modern and we had awesome sleeps in the bed. I would like to thank the owners and workers for all they did - they are all awesome!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Prince Motor Lodge, 100 Roberts Street, Taupo, was the perfect base of operations. Besides being centrally located to everything within easy walking distance, the staff was most friendly, courteous, professional and accommodating. They went out of their way to not only make me feel welcomed, but were most gracious by making me feel happy to be there. Julie and Rochelle must be singled out as being outstanding civil ambassadors for New Zealand. When I requested to pay to have my laundry done due to my fishing travels, they on both occasions completed the task but refused to accept payment. However, they did leave a most kind note stating they were glad to have me as their guest in their country and payment for such a task was not necessary. The rooms of the Lodge are tastefully coordinated and extremely comfortable, with new beds, new mattress, leather sofa, table and chairs, well stocked kitchenette, and a great bathroom. I without reservation recommend the Prince Motor Lodge for any of your clients staying in Taupo.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After driving around looking for a motel for the weekend and finding the first 3 were either too expensive or were fully booked we booked into the Prince Motor Lodge.
We found the motel to be a good size, clean, comfortable beds and good parking outside our room which is in a courtyard.
The motel is only a 5 minute walk to the lake, shops and McCafe for a nice coffee.

The owners were very nice and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms like ours the bedroom looked out to the lake which was quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was the first time we had stayed at the Prince Motor Lodge, Taupo. We would definitely recommend it. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The bed was gorgeous! Only a short walking distance to town, lake and resturants. Very friendly hosts. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My first stay has me returning when stopping over in Taupo......spacious living/bedroom area along with spacious bathroom. I could not fault my accommodation.......walking distance to both the Lake and town. So convenient to have a Thai Restaurant on site. I have no hesitation in recommending to others, I have already booked my Feb 2013 return - I have no desire to look elsewhere as Prince Motor Lodge along with the friendly Hoteliers’ provide exactly what I require for excellent home away from home accommodation.

Room Tip: Discuss what your preference is in accomodation/room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stay there when we come to Taupo. Several times over last few years in summer and winter. Warm, inviting hosts with solid knowledge of the region. Rooms are spacious and clean. Light bulb needed replacing, not a big deal, but the hosts fixed immediately. They cared that we were happy. Situated a short walk to town, also a quick hop to the lake. Awesome weather in this visit which makes our time even better. Thanks guys we enjoyed our see you next time.
Dot

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Taupo township, the Prince Motor Lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre and the shores of Lake Taupo. Central New Zealand accommodation at its best. The lodge has 32 ground floor units including spa bath suites, all serviced daily. SKY Digital, wireless internet, large LCD televisions, queen sized beds and a private spa pool help to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. With a selection of room categories available, you will be spoilt with choice. From studio units to One Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy one of the newly re-decorated Deluxe units. Owner Operators, Ron and Julie Mitchell look forward to welcoming you to the Prince Motor Lodge. "We strive to provide all our guests with comfortable accommodation and a memorable stay. Your 'home away from home', where you can enjoy the wonders of this stunning part of New Zealand - Great Lake Taupo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.