We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Leach Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
(06) 7599128
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 109 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I went here for our wedding anniversary. The food was brilliant and the portion sizes were just right. The special bit was the flambe crepe suzettes cooked at your table which were equally superb. A faultless meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned flambe cooking - beautifully done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It was a surprise! We each had something different, the "show" was well worth watching and the meal delicious.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Nothing to dislike. If i was pushed, i'd complain about the smell and smoke of sizzling plates made for other patrons at their tables, but that kind of adds to the ambience, i guess. Great service and great food!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We enjoy eating here, the food and service both very good.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aukland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We called in without a booking at about 8.30pm (we were at a conference in the hotel) with a reasonably large group of about 18 and they took us happily. The service was very friendly and although they wouldn't serve the menu that was cooked at the table (flambe style) because of our numbers, the normal menu was more than extensive enough. We didn't order entrees but everyone enjoyed their mains and they didn't take too long to come either. They also allowed us to pay separately. Overall a nice experience and nice food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orangery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.