We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 22 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a great place to stay while you are in the Taranaki Region. Well located for easy access to the mountain and to New Plymouth with very welcoming and knowledgable hosts. Extremely comfortable with a lovely garden and terrific views of Taranaki as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The window of each of the front rooms frame Mount Taranaki, pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaheights, Owner at Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and staying at Villa Heights. Hope you had a safe trip home to Hobart. It was lovely to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I just spent 2 days with Rosemary and John. They have a wonderful property in a great location and they are excellent hosts. Our room was spacious, spotless, and well appointed. The breakfast is outstanding, and the hosts very helpful and accommodating. We would happily go back for another dose of Villa Heights any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it was splendid. John & Rosemary are such welcoming people. Upon arriving a cup of tea and home made treats were offered which were great after a day on the road. The rooms are exceptional with an en suite with all the luxury items required to feel pampered. The rooms are large, comfortable and views amazing. A fully cooked breakfast of your choice is offered for the morning and it was delicious. The house was nice and warm with a fire roaring in the guest lounge, which has a large TV and couch. The welcoming tail wagging Daisy was also on hand to say Hi and walk you to your car each morning. Can't say enough about the hosts, house and area. Thank you John & Rosemary for making us feel like part of your extended family and making our stay one of the best B & B stays we have ever had anywhere.!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We arrived at Rosemary and John's house an old villa which has been restored. We were shown to our lovely room the garden room. It was very well appointed. We were then offered Scones and cream and a lovely cup of tea.
John recommended a restaurant Funky Fish for the evening meal which was very good. We did find the drive back in the dark somewhat daunting as the turning into their road which is a long one, is rather hazardous if you have someone driving too close to you and it is easy to miss.
However the breakfasts were wonderful and set you up for the day. Lovely fresh fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Villa Heights is an old villa that has been meticulously restored. Rosemary and John are charming hosts, happy to share their story with you, but not intrusive.. The house is warm (a pleasant change from many old villas) and very comfortable. We had the Egmont room and were disappointed we could not see the mountain when we arrived but next morning there it was in all its splendour!
It was nice to be welcomed with scones and a cuppa. We enjoyed a BBQ dinner with luscious lamb chops etc., and a substantial breakfast with many choices. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple.
We can thoroughly recommend both the house and the hosts..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was simply an outstanding experience. To arrive at about 4pm after a longish drive to be greeted with " would you be wanting a cup of tea and scones with whipped cream and strawberry jam" by Rosemary.
Lovely spacious and beautiffully furnished bedrooms with all facilities and a spacious dining room and sitting room along with a very sunny conservatory. The attention by Rosemary and John was excellent and friendly but unobtrusive.
The house and gardens are a masterpiece in themselves and demonstrate Rosemary and John's attention to detail and excellent taste
They offered a simple but excellent evening meal with complimentary drinks, and the breakfast is also excellent with a wide range of cereals and fruits and a cooked breakfast as well; and then there is the toast ( brown bread with or without grains......)
The views are spectacular and although out in the country it is only a 10 - 20 min drive to most of the wonderful attractions around and in New Plymouth.
For all of the facilities and service the price is very reasonable and we would definitely want to stay there when next visiting New Plymouth. No negatives at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and quiet. Ours had sweeping views to the east and got the sunrise. Our frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were looking forward to new Plymouth as we wanted see mount taranaki.
Our room was the Egmont room with views from the window of mount taranaki.
We had crystal clear skies and awesome views.
Villa heights is a beautiful house with wonderful gardens, hard to believe it arrived in 3 pieces on a truck 10 years ago!
John and rosemary are lovely hosts who exude all the charm of their irish heritage even though they have been in New Zealand 47 years.
Accommodation, service and food excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the Egmont room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Upland Road, New Plymouth 4372, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxery Bed and Breakfast at it's best.Set in peaceful garden setting, only 15 minutes drive to new Plymouth Qualmark 4+ star. Stunning views of mount Taranaki. Warm hospitality.Free Wireless Internet. Full breakfast. Dinner by arrangment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.