We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty treats at terrific prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radio Malabar

Radio Malabar
633 devon road, Waiwhakaiho, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
+64 6-758 4073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: South Indian (Kerala) Restaurant, Open 6 days
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty treats at terrific prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice dosa at this new place on the edge of Fitzroy. Good service and friendly. Portion size was good, and rice in plenty. If you like it hot, ask. The default is mild as. Go for it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous Masla Dossa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It is so refreshing to find a good quality South Indian restaurant offering inexpensive dishes in sunny New Plymouth! The authentic masala dossa ($12) are a must -try. There are three other vegetarian curry options and numerous meat and fish dishes. Service was friendly and efficient. Well worth a visit, all though this is not a central location. We will definitely return next time we are in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Radio malabar kerala restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

There is only 4 Kerala south Indian restaurants in New Zealands. I am from kerala(south india) and I tried dishes from other kerala restaurants in New Zealands, but Radio malabar dishes and tastes are outstanding. Biriyanis and seafood dishes is going to change the view of Taranaki's Indian taste buds. Final word there is butter in the menu, please order it for kids. Don't try it. I don't know why Butter chicken in a Kerala restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“South Indian Taste at its best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was a fascinating experience of the southern Indian cuisine to the highest standards of flavor.
Thoroughly enjoyed the tasty malabari dum biriyani... Fabulous!!!
My only warning to you, is that if you go once you will keep going back...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, some real South Indian Flavours!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and My Wife went to this South Indian Restaurant situated just out of Town, We heard about this restaurant through Our friend but We were blown away with the Flavours, the food was delicious and the Prices were very reasonable. Will definatley go back !!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radio Malabar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Radio Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radio Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.