We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfair

The Mayfair
69-73 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 4360, New Zealand
06 7592088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 108 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Pizza, Café, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Mayfair is New Plymouth's premier all round entertainment venue. Our Cafe offers a fabulous a la carte menu, from Char grilled dishes right through to our famous pizza's. We cater for a wide range of tastes, with international favourites such as Tap Heineken, Erdinger & Murphy's alongside our New Zealand inspired winelist.This is only the first layer of our exciting venue, we also cater for private functions & corporate events in a beautiful atrium setting that leads through to the original historic theatre venue.In the Mayfair LIVE we have a proud history of providing diverse music, and have an excellent reputation for bringing quality local & international LIVE acts to the province .
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Funky Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Mayfair is open during the day for meals, and at night, and also has bands that play there on weekends.
The bar is on the main street and close to the local theatre so good for pre meal shows or after show drinks.
The food is good and especially the pizza which there is a great selection.
We have also been to The Mayfair for after work drinks, and it is a enjoyable venue, and does get very busy on weekends as turns into a night club.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at The Mayfair, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hey Karen,
Thank you for reviewing our Funky Bar :)
You described our bar as we hope all our customers view it, we are glad to hear that it fits your requirements and you enjoy it so much.
Hope you visit us again.
Regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food was excellent and real value for money.....went on Friday 13th when it was a full moon and got helped by a werewolf...that was different.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at The Mayfair, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hehehe the werewolf has gone back into hiding until next time.
Great to hear you had a good time and thank you for your review.
Regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our group of 16 family members tried The Mayfair for an evening meal. Our reserved table was ready when we arrived and bottles of water were served soon after. There was a good selection of items on the a la carte menu, including breakfast items and a large selection of pizzas.Service was rather slow, and, as we had children with us, our orders could have been taken much earlier. Drinks were adequate (no wine list). Our food was average pub/cafe fare and forgettable. However, the more expensive items (steak, pork belly, scallops) were well presented. The pizzas were terrible. Sparse toppings and doughy bases spoiled what could have been a memorable evening. A small selection of deserts was available.No coffees were offered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the Mayfair.The customer service was outstanding; the coffee was brillant, there was no long wait for our food. We ordered a large pizza which was amazing (It was a challenge to pick which pizza as there were so many fabulous combinations/toppings).It was more than enough for both my husband and I.There was a wide variety on the menu and it was clear by watching the food coming out of the kitchen that all the items on the menu would be just as tasty as our pizza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were walking past and had not seen this before. Was well patronised at 11.30 am on a Saturday a good sign so tried and were quite impressed. We will return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayfair also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.