We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe/Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rig 66

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rig 66
280 Devon Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 111 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice Cafe/Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nice place and good beer. Coffee is good too. Maybe in the past it would like to remind a Offshore Rig, but now the max you will see is some old "bit's" on the floor, 2 or 3 old pictures somewhere and nothing more... but still a nice place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We dropped by Rig 66 for a quick drink on the way in to town, but stayed most of the evening. The bar staff were friendly and attentive, the atmosphere was relaxed, and we enjoyed all the oil field memorabilia. The photo of the derrick was a laugh, love the attention to detail. Didn't have a meal but will be sure to next time. Great job.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible terrible terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to Rig 66 with a table of 6, there was only our table and one other table of 2, and yet we waited over an hour, and got cold food delivered! Then we waited over half an hour for them to bring any food back! One order of eggs bene took another hour to bring back to us. Worst experience ever!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egersund, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place on the corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

food, lunch was good, and so was the beer. a bit loud music, but total OK. went there more than once, and will come back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rig 66 also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Rig 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rig 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.