We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad Bowl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tesoro

Tesoro
211a Devon Street East, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 108 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Salad Bowl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The girls are always pleasant. Food is always fresh and full of flavour. My fav is the Salad Bowl with chicken. The girls have sussed a dinky way to present. Way to go for something deli ships and healthy ish

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great value authentic Mexican! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just bought and throughly enjoyed this Mexican takeaway for myself and four children (10-18yrs). Delicious, tasty and good quantities for all of us. Friendly efficient service. Will definitely eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to tesoro on saturday night for my first time. The staff were very friendly, telling me about all the meals and helping me choose what i wanted. Ended up with a large chicken and vege burrito on reccomendation from one of the girls, and was so good! Awesome flavours fresh salad.
As for the people moaning about it being cold, go get Mcdonalds or any other takeaways, they hold their heat just the same! Plus the salad would go soggy- then youd be moaning over soggy lettuce. Keep it up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good quality Mexican take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good. Had a 15 minute wait but they were busy and the two girls working there where rushed off there feet. Wife ordered large burrito which was good and I ordered the quesadilla. We were both very happy with our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cold tasteless food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Agree with others. There is something wrong in their systems for making food hot. This is a takeaway so it needs to be really hot to keep heat. My motel was very close and I drove back immediately but food merely warm.
I had medium chilli but good detect none at all. Food was bland and tasteless.
It is set up like a subway but frankly subway is tastier.
Mexican my foot...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tesoro also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Tesoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tesoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.