We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Kathakali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
39A Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-758 8848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 123 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New restaurant
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch at Kathakali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had an excellent lunch. The food was very good and great value for money. The staff were very friendly and happy to tell you about the food and how it is prepared.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    29
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New Plymouths #1 restaurant for good reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is the real deal and it's easy to see why it the #1 place to eat in New Plymouth.

It's so refeshing to visit an Indian restaurant that serves authentic south indian food, you won't find poppadoms or chicken korma here, instead there is a limited menu cooked and spiced to order, with ice cold beer on tap. The dosa's make a fantastic starter, and we opted for the lamb specials.

The restaurant is situated upstairs so is easy to miss, but look for the restaurant India Today, and it is right opposite, just look up. You wont be disapointed and Sree the owner will look after you.

Enjoy... and do try the dosa!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Charming Service with Middling Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The service throughout my visit was charming and attentive. It included a warm towel to clean my hands at the end of the meal.

I chose one of the three vegetarian options from the menu. What arrived wasn’t anything like my choice although I was assured that it was what I ordered. The waiter even called it something else. What I got was a thin sauce with spinach and a paratha and portion of white rice. It was moderately spicy. It was a disappointing meal – I had assumed that a southern Indian restaurant would be used to vegetarian food. It filled me up but it wasn’t very interesting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a great authentic meal here. Lots of flavour to the dishes, and reasonable prices. Very friendly staff and good service that. It iced the details. Would come back when next in New Plymouth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We found Kathakali on Trip Advisor and decided to try it. The dosa was recommended by other reviewers so we tried it. WOW, loved this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathakali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.