We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLD STAR RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
39A Devon St East, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 101 restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant
1 review
“GOLD STAR RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Delicious, authentic food served by a personable & interesting waiter in a relaxing & tasteful environment. Our favourite Indian restaurant in NZ.
Pamela & David

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    57
    16
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome. Décor authentic, adding great ambience. Loved the simplicity of the menu - not too many mains to choose from as many restaurants make the mistake of doing in my opinion, often confusing the customer. Loved the fact that on their menu they included the history and origin of the food they were serving so you could understand more about their culture. Would be great place to dine whether you are in a big group or quiet dinner for 2. Caters for both. Food was beautiful. Service fantastic. Prices so affordable you could eat there regularly and not break the bank. Great night out if you on a budget. Genuine south indian staff who were so warm and friendly, we felt like we had been invited into their own home for a meal. Will definitely be spreading the word and will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went to Kathakali based on other reviews and we left very happy customers!
The food was as excellent as the service.
We're used to the usual Indian food normally found in restaurants, this place offers something different, food we never even knew existed which was a refreshing change. The guys there made sure you was enjoying the food without harassing you and did so with a smile

The review would of gotten 5*, however, there was quite a large (loud) party of people which was detrimental to the atmosphere and we were seated right next to them which wasn't ideal.

Well done guys

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious food, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Dropped in here whilst in town for work. The reviews said the food was good, and they were not wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal, and was impressed by the staff. I would certainly recommend this to a friend or colleague in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“The best south Indian restaurant ...great service......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I loved the decor and ambiance of the restaurant. We had wonderful service with the staff knowing all about the items on the menu and explaining same. We thoroughly enjoyed the service and food was the best........We were warmly greeted at the door by the manager and shown straight to the table. I will utilize every opportunity of coming to this place.The quality, presentation and taste ...everything was superb........Well done guys...u guys r superb...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathakali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.