We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airlie House
Save
You added Airlie House to your Saves list
161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Auckland NZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were touring the North Island with friends on a visit from the UK and decided to stay at this wonderful house. Gabrielle was a wonderful host and we all enjoyed the wonderful welcome and great breakfasts. The rooms were a credit to her - they were spotless and every comfort you could wish for. Thanks to Gabrielle for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My partner and I (one of us from New Plymouth) booked this little gem from London after finding it on google. Gabrielle was helpful from the outset, discussing our requirements, providing a generous discount and even sending us photo's of the mountain we would soon be enjoying! It's a 10-15 minute walk into central New Plymouth or to the beach, has free off-street parking and you can come and go as you please. The house itself has been beautifully restored and you can tell Gabrielle has impeccable taste! It is very comfortable and really a home away from home. Impeccably clean and wonderfully apportioned, the large studio room was just the ticket for our stay. From its quaint view over the garden, fully equipped kitchenette and very comfortable bed, we just cannot rate it highly enough! Staying for 7 nights, we enjoyed 7 nights excellent sleep, and Gabrielle's fantastic cooked breakfasts the next morning around the communal breakfast table. chatting with the other guests. Always willing to help, provide information and advice, Gabrielle is the perfect host, and could not be more suited to this wonderful establishment, which we hope to return to when staying in New Plymouth in future. Highly, highly recommended, forget the overpriced hotels in the province, and give this a go - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed in this accommodation for two nights. We really enjoyed it. The host is very nice and was helpful with advice on sightseeing. The room was beautiful and we enjoyed the large DVD collection. The breakfast was delicious.
The beach and all major sights can be reached in 5-15 minutes walk.
If in the area again, we would stay at Airlie House again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dxb625
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This has got to be the best B&B out there. Danielle welcomed us into her beautiful, immaculate and most charming home and made us feel like we were old friends instead of "just visitors from out of NZ who would only be staying for 1 night". She has got two beautifully adorned rooms - one with a king bed, faux fireplace, LCD TV in a spacious layout, while the other is a room with a queen bed, ensuite kitchen and LCD TV. No matter which room you pick, you will have a wonderful time at the Airline House. Did I also mention that Danielle is a great cook? The breakfast is simply the best we had in New Zealand!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

It is a lovely charming house with unique style and Gabrielle is a very friendly host. We stayed in the drawing room and enjoyed the silence and the beautiful view to the front garden. It is a luxury accommodation and you won’t miss anything. Free Wi-Fi internet is a great advantage. Highly recommended! Gabrielle, thank you for you hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

As with the previous reviewer, I am wary of B&Bs and their sometimes kitsch decor and OTT hosts.

Airlie House is more like a small boutique hotel than a B&B. On arrival we were greeted by the owner and shown our room and the other facilities, and other than that were left to our own devices other than at breakfast time.

The room (we had the self contained apartment) was beautifully decorated, light, spacious and airy and contained everything we needed and more, including milk and the added touch of mini chocolate bars. Everything was spotlessly clean and we had lovely fresh linen on the bed and in the bathroom. There is SKY TV in the room and a guest lounge with a big screen TV and huge selection of DVDs to watch if you fancy an evening in. Guests also have the use of a computer (with broadband, I think) if required. The house itself is a very well restored and maintained historic home.

Breakfast was great and we took the opportunity to chat to Gabrielle as she popped in and out with extra provisions, newspaper etc. She was very helpful regarding things to do and see, and places to eat out.

The location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk to the main street and approx 10 minute walk to the coastal walkway.

Overall an excellent stay - we would definitely return and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I don't normally do B&B - they can be so hit and miss because most of the time you are basically staying in someone's home, and tastes vary so wildly - one person's friendly landlady and charming decor is another person's overbearing nosy parker and godawful floral lace cushions all over the place. Airlie House though, is well worth making an exception for! More small boutique hotel than B&B, it's a beautiful, charming and tasteful home with an exceptionally nice host to boot. Our room was big, warm and decorated in neutral tones, with a comfy bed and all the facilities you'd expect - tea making stuff, TV with Sky, very fast wifi, etc. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom, with shower and clawfoot bath, underfloor heating, lots of towels, all spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely (toast, fruit, cereals, cooked brekkie stuff, decent juice etc). At $155 for two with breakfast included, we'll be back for sure (assuming we can get in!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.