We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airlie House
Save
You added Airlie House to your Saves list
161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed with Gabrielle at her beautiful home for one night. She was a wonderful host and made sure our stay was perfect. We had a garden room overlooking the front lawn and a most amazing bathroom with an old fashioned claw bath. Breakfast was a feast and we shared our table with two other guests who were most entertaining. The location was perfect, just a short stroll into the town centre. Unfortunately we did not have much time to explore but hope to return to do so.
Icing on the cake for my husband was the show round of the ' garage'. As a petrol head it was his dream to have.
A very enjoyable time spent and we would definitely return. Thank You!

Room Tip: We had the front garden room and an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Not sure where to start
Rooms were very clean with great decor
Breakfast was fit for a king n queen
Service was outstanding and nothing was any trouble
This will be our place to stay every time we are in the nacky.
Thankyou Gabrielle for all your help n pass my regards on to John and Dean

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed for four nights and cannot fault it. The room was perfect and facilities excellent (and spotless). Gabrielle is a wonderful and unobtrusive host and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Definitely the nicest place we stayed on our trip. Gabrielle's attention to detail was great e.g. I mentioned that I drink trim milk and the next day the prepackaged milk in our fridge had been replaced with a jug of trim milk. Lovely bed, great shower, nice smelling toiletries, yummy cookies, wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My second visit to Airlie House and again, I couldn't fault it. Gabrielle is a wonderful host and I immediately felt as though I was returning to visit a friend. Stayed in the Garden Room which is large with a view of the gardens and it's own enormous bathroom with Pure Fiji toiletries (my favourite brand). Breakfasts were excellent and Gabrielle was kind enough to make me an omelette one morning which was most appreciated - another instance of her hospitality.
I will definitely stay there again on my next annual visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful house & room -- both very tastefully appointed, spotlessly clean and very well located on a quiet lot conveniently adjacent to the CBD. Gabrielle is a very friendly gracious host, breakfast was great! I will certainly return if in the New Plymouth area again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were delighted to spend three days and four nights at the Airlie House in New Plymouth. Gabrielle was a fantastic host for our family of three (including our 21 year old son) and, together with two community rooms, our accommodations were everything we could have imagined. Gabrielle's breakfasts were fantastic and the location close to downtown could not have been better. We spend a day exploring the downtown beachfront, a day up to Mt. Taranaki, and a final day exploring the wonder of the three sisters white cliffs. We would heartily recommend both the Airlie house and the New Plymouth area for a great time of exploring. Thanks, Gabrielle, for everything you did to make our stay an experience to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying with Gabrielle for 2 nights. We stayed in the Drawing Room and it was huge! There's a great big window seat overlooking the front garden. The little en suite bathroom was very clean and modern. Airlie House is in a great location to walk into town easily. The free wifi was fantastic too. Gabrielle is so friendly and knowledgable, she knows everything about the area, and was a great help in planning our days.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House

Address: 161 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive breakfast ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.