We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are other less expensive options out there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amber Court Motel to your Saves list
Amber Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd night half price!
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Wellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“there are other less expensive options out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

we booked a two-bedroom unit - the main room looked very cramped although it only had the queen bed and drawer in it. even though we had more than enough beds for us, i still had to pay extra for my kids.

most motels (and hotels we've been to during this week-long trip) did not charge for children as long as they use existing bedding configuration. this encourages families to get bigger units. this is something that the management can look into so that it's more family friendly.

the kitchen and shower/toilet are old-style ones. microwave and stove need updating for safety reasons. parking was pretty tight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We value all postive feed back and constructive criticism. I thank you for your postive remarks but I am confused as to why you think you should not have to pay for your children. You booked a two bedroom unit knowing how many beds there are in the rooms. Our rates are clearly marked for 1 - 2 guests?. . We incur costs for all our facilities such as heating and maintainance for our indoor heated pool, showers,electricity, laundry and housekeeping. It would be a fast track to fiancial ruin for such charity as you suggest. The microwave is on a raised bench and the stove is a free standing oven as in most homes. As for parking all but one two bedroom unit has parking directly outside, other than that we have two large car park which can accommodate large trucks and buses. For such accommodation here in New Plymouth we are very reasonably priced for what service and facilities we provide.

Amber Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
23
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in November '10 in a 2-bedroom unit. Spacius and well equiped, but the general feel is that the place is beginning to look a bit tired.
Got fine help with trips, washing etc from hosts, but they didn't seem to take much notice about my complaints about the pricy internet connection which was available, but extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are constantly upgrading our property. We value your custom and any feedback negative or positive. We are very pleased to say we have recently changed our internet provider and are now able to offer a free and faster service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This motel has excellent service and is a great accommodation locality.

The staff are are friendly and the room was clean, comfortable with great amenities - modern big screen TV, king size bed, warm.

The motel is walking distance to the City centre, the beach is just down the road, food places are all very handy and I would use this motel not only for business trips but family as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASPER72, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thankyou for your positive response, we hope you had a wonderful time in New Plymouth. So many customers compliment us personally but not many will take the time to comment like yourself. Again I thankyou and hope we see you again.

Carolyn Falloon

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

The city centre is only a short walk from this centrally located motel with the main street of shops and cafes about five minutes away. The rooms are well equiped even if the decor is somewhat dated (or retro!) and have everything you need for an enjoyable stay, while the complex has a communal games room and spa pool. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and were a great source of local information, in addition to entering into the spirit of a rugby test game which was the reason for our visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASPER72, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. It was truly an awesome weekend, guests and rugby alike. We take great pleasure in running this motel and with a response so positive its gives us a great sense of achievment.

Kindest Regards

Carolyn Falloon & Sandy Breen
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed 4 days and were really very happy. The unit was like an appartment. The furnishing and ammeneties were first rate. The daily service was perfect.
The location was very good. Easy to find and close to the ocean and shops and resturants.The heated indoor pool and spa!!! The hosts were just that ....A1+++++

the heated indoor pool a

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

I stay at Amber Courts 1 -2 times during the year, I find the hosts superb - friendly & helpful, the units are spacious, clean and exceptionally tidy, it is handy being so close to the shopping centre.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We (4 mates) have stayed here for a week in January for the last 4 years (Bowls Taranaki open mens fours) and will be staying again in January 2009. There are a few teams that stay at this time and they too come back each year. We book a 2 bedroom apartment, its all self cater. The place has a great atmosphere about it and the rooms are clean and serviced every day. Easy walk to the centre of town or a short cheap taxi ride. The staff are great, can’t do enough to help out. Highly recomend Amber Court.

  • Liked — comfortable accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.