We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and nice amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Plymouth International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Plymouth International to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Courtenay & Leach Street | Private Bag 2057, New Plymouth, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and nice amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although a tad pricey the room is fantastic, clean, comfortable and the hotel is in a great location - easy walk to town and the seaside walkway. Right next door to a nice supermarket and liquor store. The bathroom is great as the sink is separate from the bath/shower and toilet, so for two people it's functional.

We were also attending a wedding at the hotel, and it was well organized and food was of good quality. The heated pool was an awesome bonus although we did not get a chance to use it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your comments about the Hotel and our staff and I am pleasd you enjoyed the wedding here at the hotel .
We really appreciate you sharing your experience at The Quality Hotel Plymouth International. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    13
    8
    0
See reviews for
11
17
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is supposed to be a premium hotel of the Choice Hotels group and certainly the price for staying at this hotel is more than staying at 4-5 star hotel in Wellington. The rooms were pretty average and quite cold and needed a heater to warm it up. Our room was at the side of the hotel next to a car park and it was too noisy. The breakfast was quite expensive for what you got and the internet was also very expensive. All in all this motel type accommodation pretends to be something it is not. It is also not too central to the main drag of New Plymouth.

Room Tip: Choose another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is an important part of our operation and it helps us to provide a better experience for our customers.
Wireless internet is an extra charge but that is not uncommon in NZ and from my experience I would have to say we are at the lower end of the market for the service we provide.
Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
All the best.
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was really impressed with the staff, the food, the room and the easy access and parking. Staying the night on a business trip, the free ironing service was a great touch. I would recommend the hotel and gladly stay their again.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ground floor as the laundry seems to go 24/7 and car parking headlights beam direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Quality Hotel Plymouth International.
It was great to read your positive comments regarding the staff, food and your room and we look forward to welcoming you again when you are next visiting New Plymouth.

Thanks again and I wish you happy travels.
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrived at night, and was greated by very friendly staff, even offering to iron a shirt for me tomorrow! The room is quite modern, and the bed and pillows were perfect for me. The room doesn't seem to have heating as such, but it was warm enough I guess.

Don't get a room near the lift, and probably the higher the better. All in all, a place I will come back again to. Quite impressed.

Room Tip: Away from the lift and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nice room, loved the restaurant. And a very good little swimming pool. Good access to the Coastal Walkway, highly recommend the walk to the Te Rewa Rewa Bridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your comments about the hotel facilities and our local attractions.
We really appreciated you staying with us and thanks again for sharing your experience at the Quality Hotel Plymouth International. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

No air conditioning. Grumpy and not flexible about checks in for a wedding that was scheduled at their own hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager0, Owner at Quality Hotel Plymouth International, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is an important part of our operation and it helps us to provide a better experience for our customers. I would like to invite you to contact me directly darrin@plmouth.co.nz so you are able to give me more details of your stay so that I can address the issue you have raised.
Kind regards
Darrin Muggeridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice hotel & great team! have stayed here several times as well and won't stay anywhere else. The room was spotless and my conference experience was without a doubt top quality!
See you soon again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Plymouth International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Plymouth International

Address: Corner Courtenay & Leach Street | Private Bag 2057, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Plymouth International 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Plymouth International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn New Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Plymouth International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.