We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ducks & Drakes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ducks & Drakes Hotel to your Saves list
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
48 Lemon Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The second time I have started here, will stay again.
A lovely little place not to far from the cbd, an open inviting lounge area and kitchen. Clean good sized rooms with extra blankets, hot water bottles.
The upstairs sauna is also a bonus.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was a lovely warm welcome after a windy and wet coast road drive. The owner made me comfortable and my room was stunning. Great view of the town and the main centre is only 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati South, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Springy beds with a great kitchen lovely people from all over massive dining area with jenga jenga jenga! Facilities are great, nice outdoor area on both sides of the place - fantastic. Service is super and conversation is humming. Two cute and friendly dogs. sun shining for a great weekend at tattoo fest! happy days! !!!!!!☺






Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

perfect location close to towncenter, very gently and friendly staff, beautiful atmosphere and very clean, absilutly the best accomodation in town quality price...i spend there a couple of days after leave seasprayhouse and im sad to spend there only 2 days... cheers!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 weeks in Ducks and Drakes working for accomodatio while the Festival of Lights last year. Wonderful place. Comfortable, clean, and a lot of fun with the people. Short walk into town, supermarket just across the road. Beautiful nature around, definately worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in room 5, which is an upstairs outside. It was a self contained apartment style room. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from the time I arrived I was greeted by cheery staff and acknowledged throughout my stay. Location was an easy walk to supermarkets, restaurants and the mall if you wanted to go for a look. I was there during the freak hail storm and although it was a big inconvenience and quite miserable for our business trip you couldn't help seeing the beauty in the situation.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ducks and Drakes is an amazing place to stay. I was luckily enough to spend 4 nights in cottage 1. All the cottages have been decorated with style and a colour theme, and they have enough space to be very comfortable. The cottages each have a little kitchen equipped with a microwave, fridge, 2 plate stove, kettle and toaster. The bathrooms have lovely soft white towels too.Each one leads out on to a grass area that has some tables and chairs, so you can sit in the sun in the morning and have a cup of coffee before you take in the sites and sounds of New Plymouth.The hostel is next door and has a lovely kitchen and lounge with a beautiful sun room. The owners Paula and Brett are so friendly and will make your stay as comfortable as possible. Paula is a local from the area so can advise on trips and tours. They can do airport and mountain transfers which is an added bonus.
They have 2 resident border collies dogs on site, who love to have a cuddle in the garden. It is close to town and the shops so all within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ducks & Drakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducks & Drakes Hotel

Address: 48 Lemon Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 1920's hotel with adjacent Cottage rooms - Ducks and Drakes offers affordable, friendly, fun accommodation in a fantastic New Plymouth location. A great base to explore Mt Taranaki; wander through our many parks and walkways; experience the country's best surfing beaches along Coast highway 45; take in one our many festivals or concerts or simply sit back and relax in our homely environment - it's a great place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ducks & Drakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducks & Drakes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.