We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bach on Breakwater

Bach on Breakwater
Oceanview parade, New Plymouth, New Zealand
06 769 6967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 111 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Cuisines: Dessert, Contemporary, Eclectic, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff were great, the service was good, I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. I will go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“lovely coastal location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

location was the key factor and the food was ok - its fine for a break and a walk on the breakwater and the staff are good but there should be table service for ordering as it is a restaurant and not a cafe and the queues can be horrendous

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Quality of the food did not match the prices. Flavour of the smoked pork belly was too intense, the lamb was no better than we could cook at home. Dessert was disappointing. A nice cafe location but not so good as a restaurant. Good service and friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“plain healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently we had an evening meal at Bach on Breakwater. My meal was a vegetarian pie which was very tasty and light. I also was served extra veges which were presented in a little jar which was rather cute. I really enjoyed my meal, as I just wanted something tasty, basic, without lots of fancy sauces.My meal was perfect, plain simple but presented very well, and very fresh.
Good selection for vegetarians and gluten free, but meats fish also on menu, and yum desserts.
Also good kids menu.
I had a glass of local wine so it was good to see the Bach selling wine from local vineyards.
The view over the sea is very pretty, you can watch boats come in and people walking on the sand.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and changed the menu a little to suit our needs.
Parking is very close, and lots of parking.
Really looking forward to my next meal at the Bach, and they also have a birthday club and Thursday coffee club offerring free coffees, and wine for your table if a birthday group dinning at night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Coffe and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice coffee and a good place to relax after a walk on the Breakwater or the walkway. The smell of the sea is almost as good as the smell of the coffee. Good gluten free options too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bach on Breakwater also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Bach on Breakwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bach on Breakwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.