We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Walkway

Coastal Walkway
Port Taranaki plus numerous pedestrian access points, New Plymouth, New Zealand
+64 6-759 6060
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Utterly spectacular 11km long walkway along the seafront in New Plymouth, New Zealand. Walk, ride skate or scoot from Bell Block in the north to Port Taranaki to the south taking in the stunning Te Rewa Rewa Bridge, three swimming beaches, a golf club, rolling farm land, rivers and various accessways to residential and shopping areas.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Such a fantastic asset to Taranaki. I love going for a run on the coastal walkway when in the area. Well maintained with breathtaking views of the sea and coastline. Love it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    97
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best Feature of New Plymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked along the walkway earlier in the day and then went back after dinner and just sat and watched the water. The day we were in New Plymouth it was sunny and mild. There were a lot of people enjoying the walkway when we were there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The highlight of New Plymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great on a nice day and an awful day, the scenery changes so much. Te Rewa Rewa Bridge is really impressive where you can see Mt Taranaki on a clear day. Bikes can be hired from town and I'd recommend this, and there are numerous free parking spots so avoid the one near i-Site.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great walk/bike ride along the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that The Big Wave, a brilliant coffee caravan, on this walk has closed. Let's hope it's just a temporary blip. To sit on the Taranaki Coast drinking excellent coffee and looking at the scenery is a wonderful thing to do.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely walkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't have great weather while visiting New Plymouth but it didn't stop us from getting out and enjoying this beautiful walkway. A must do when visiting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Walkway also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Coastal Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.