We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Walkway

Coastal Walkway
Port Taranaki plus numerous pedestrian access points, New Plymouth, New Zealand
+64 6-759 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 attractions in New Plymouth
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Utterly spectacular 11km long walkway along the seafront in New Plymouth, New Zealand. Walk, ride skate or scoot from Bell Block in the north to Port Taranaki to the south taking in the stunning Te Rewa Rewa Bridge, three swimming beaches, a golf club, rolling farm land, rivers and various accessways to residential and shopping areas.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wide walk ways,well worth it for the views! Had really relaxing time walking & it was well used by everyone, runners, families, people on bikes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    61
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great in any weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The ever changing vistas on this awesome walkway are amazing. It is a credit to the city. Stretching from Breakwater Bay in the West right through the city, it is worth spending the time here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tairua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Te Rewa Rewa Bridge was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to see the bridge twice once in rain which was bitterly cold but worth the look. The next day it fined up and we wanted to see Mt Egmont through the bridge which we did. A treat

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Plymouth coastal walkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a lovely walk with fantastic scenery all the way and so easy to walk it as the track was perfect!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What an amazing attribute for New Plymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had previously walked the section from the Wind Wand to the Port, so this time headed in the other direction with the aim of reaching the new bridge (The Wave). We loved the part along the clifftops, beside the rocks and waves. The cafe caravan along the way was so funky with its old armchairs placed beside the path. We weren't so keen when the path veered away from the water, and there was only sand dunes to look at. Coming out at the bridge was lovely, and as we looked back along the structure we found Mt Taranaki beautifully framed at the end. This is quite a long walk, it took us around 100 minutes of fast walking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Walkway also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Coastal Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coastal Walkway to your Saves list