We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Simple but Great Model for Business Travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pukekura Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pukekura Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   141 Coronation Ave, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Simple but Great Model for Business Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome place, perfectly clean, in new condition and was all redone about three years ago. Great location, quiet.

Very friendly people, fair pricing and I could not find a blemish on this place.

I am planning to only stay one place in New Plymouth from now on. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the Great Review Tim. We appreciate your recommendation and we would love to have you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Places like Pukekura Motor Lodge teach you that paying more money doesn't get you better accommodation.

Last year we stayed at The Waterfront Hotel, which is almost double the cost. Don't get me wrong, it was luxurious..... BUT so is this place (if not more).

We have stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Extremely comfortable with double glazed windows, king size bed, with 50+ sky channels! This is 5-star stuff! It even has a great cooked breakfast menu on offer!!!!

The hosts are friendly and non-intrusive.

What struck me the most was the value! Walking distance from the centre of town, spacious rooms, extremely new fixtures, gym, free wi-fi, and good views (from upper rooms).

Don't pass up the chance to stay here, I highly recommend to all my tripadvisor friends! Don't waste your money anywhere else.

I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
WOW, thank you for such high praise for our accommodation. We really appreciate the amazing words and we would love to see you again when you next visit New Plymouth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Modern, clean, spacious and well appointed unit (single room). Great ensuite. Great location - quiet but still central. Friendly hosts. Very highly recommended. I would not stay anywhere else when visiting New Plymouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit to New Plymouth when we hope you will stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly hosts. Lovely room, modern decor, well appointed, lovely ensuite, very clean. Good amenities. Will be staying here on a regular basis from now on through work, am glad this property was recommended to me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We try to look after our Corporate guests and provide them with a home away from home atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall this was a great place to stay, first impressions count as we walked into the two bedroom unit it smelt cleaned and on closer inspection it was! Great start
Shower had excellent pressure
Beds were clean and the rooms spacious
Cooking facilities acceptable and decent sized pots and pans
Only issue was the internet/wireless connection kept dropping out but this is a minor detail
Pricing was fine and I will be recommending this premise to co-workers, clients and staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Our 2 bedroom units are very spacious and quiet as they are at the back of the property. We found we had an issue with the router in that room which has now been repaired so the Internet connection should work great for the next time you visit us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the 2 bedroom unit. It was a good size and very clean. I appreciated having a TV in the bedrooms as well. Lovely owners who were very happy to help with anything. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review about your recent stay. Our 2 Bedroom Units are spacious and great for couples and families. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a new-ish, conveniently located property that met our needs completely. Located close enough to the CBD for a moderate walk or short drive but away from the traffic. Nicely equipped and perfectly clean accomodations. Should we return to New Plymouth, this would once again be our base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay with us for your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pukekura Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukekura Motor Lodge

Address: 141 Coronation Ave, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pukekura Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you at Pukekura Motor Lodge, New Plymouth’s newest luxury Motor Lodge where we provide superior self –contained motel accommodation and an air-conditioned conference and meeting venue.Our quiet, central location is just 2km to New Plymouth’s town centre where you will find great shopping and a wide range of excellent cafe's, restaurants and bars. A short stroll to the Bowl of Brooklands, Pukekura Park and the famous seaside walkway in New Zealand’s rugged West Coast of the North Island makes Pukekura Motor Lodge the perfect location for business, family, holidays, meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pukekura Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pukekura Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.