We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Manor Motel

Landmark Manor Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landmark Manor Motel to your Saves list
Landmark Manor Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   72 Leach Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were welcomed to the Landmark Manor Motel by very friendly hosts, with a muffin to go with our coffee on arrival (a very welcoming touch). We stayed in the two bedroomed motel at the back behind the office. The room was quiet and very clean and tidy, very warm, two good sized bedrooms and great king size beds, just a little small for two couples in the living area, although good seating (couch and two chairs). The hosts hadn't been there long but were extremely helpful with advise of places to dine out. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
51
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Before the negatives I want to say this place is spotlessly clean which is always good. Its noisy at night with traffic and drunks walking along the road. The building itself looks pretty old but the rooms have had a spruce up. That said you can't make a silk purse out of a pigs ear!
The beds are big but old and saggy with pillows the thickness of the Weekend Herald- and as hard.
I asked the very nice male owner if i could have different/ more pillows. He came to look at them with his wife or mother (I'm not sure which she was) when i showed them the pillows she said "What do you want me to do about it?" and "Nobody else has complained, we've only been here 3 weeks" I explained that i would like more pillows and that in fact there is a comment on Trip advisor complaining of exactly the same thing. I also sat on the edge of the bed to show them how much sag there was. Again she asked "what do you want me to do about it?" I explained that it was customer feedback about her business! Again she told me we've only been here three weeks- as if thats relevant to me. I was given a couple of additional thin pillows. Seriously some people should not be allowed near customers. Because nobody else has mentioned something to you doesn't mean that there isn't a problem- On my two night stay i requested my breakfast at a certain time but that didn't matter it arrived about 30mins before that on both days. I have posted a pic of the pillows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

lovely warm welcome plus a muffin to go with my coffee. it was a spur of the moment decision to stay in new Plymouth. had no plans as to where to stay. they were easy to find with easy parking and close to everything. good quiet room with a king size bed! good color to the room also. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room with a spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very warm friendly owners, complimentary home baked chocolate chip muffins on arrival awesome. Clean, spacious rooms, close to all amenities with supermarkets across the road fabulous. I will stay here again and highly recommend to my organization, friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a one bedroom suite which included a bedroom with en-suite facilities and a separate living/kitchen area. We had a lovely greeting from the owner with complimentary warm muffins and butter which made a great first impression. The motel is located next to a busy main road and our room was on the first floor next to the road and there was some traffic noise into the night and early morning. (suggest asking for a room away from the road). The rooms were clean and compact and located just a five minute stroll from the main shopping area and restaurants.

Enjoyed a walk along the coastal path.

Off to Waitomo Caves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We found the location very good, but a bit hard to access due to the Motel being placed adjacent to a one way street, but it is in a handy location to most points of interest. The muffins given to us when we checked in was very welcome and a nice touch. The owners were really friendly, and were helpful with local information. The only negative comment I could make is that there was no separate bedroom and all four beds were in the lounge, but we had plenty of room. The service and cleanliness was of a high standard, and I would say that the room was good value for money and that Rex and Marina were excellent hosts

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
One way streets can be annoying when not use to them, agree then.

Pleased you all enjoyed the muffins on your arrival
As for no separate bedrooms, when you booked on the web you booked that large studio, not a room with separate bedrooms, which Marina did tell you on your arrival. The 2 bedroom unit was availabe had you wish to take that.
Any way hope your friends from across the ditch had a great time in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was horrified when we first arrived. The motel is on an ugly business road surrounded by 3 supermarkets and car showrooms. It feels like a us strip mall in the Midwest. After 6 weeks touring NZ I had finally seen ugliness. The motel isn't a pretty sight either looking like a down at heel public housing estate. The room was very small for a motel, the beds were very soft and there wasn't even a bar of soap provided. And the room was full of mosquitoes (because the cleaners leave the doors open when they clean). After a beautiful motel in Taupo for less money we were depressed as we stayed 5 nights here because of WOMAD. I should add the owners were on holiday and the acting person in charge didn't seem terribly clued in. I am not sure what chemicals were used cleaning but during my time there I developed a really bad dose of rhinitis and a seriously painful throat.
To be fair there were some good things: we were given 2 sachets of plunger coffee each day; the internet for one device only was unlimited and the shower was excellent. And we did discover we were very close to the park for womad and to the centre of town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for doing a review for Landmark Manor Motel.
Must say the heading is certainly different never heard it called ugly before, buy I guess each tio their own.

Before I went away ther was 2 supermarkets, came back still two, not sure where thew third one came from and went to. If fact because we are so close to TWO supermarkets is a great selling point..

Sorry the beds were to soft for you, but if it is very hard to get a bed that suits everyone, some guests like hard beds, others soft.

Soap, we have liquid soap at handbasin and shower gel in shower, however if you wanted a bar of soap all you had to do was asked and you would have had some put in your unit.

As for the mosquitoes, they could have came into the room while you were unloading your car, so leaving open on a hot day was the right thing to do in our mind, and you would have noticed that there is fly spray in the room had you looked.

The main chemicals used on a service is a citrus (orange based), so very suprised if that was the cause for you sore throat.

Must say it was please that you did found a couple of things that you were pleased about, however the internet can connect to more then one device, had you tried.

As for saying the minders were clueless that is very hard to say, we get very good reports from both our regular guests and from others, so maybe it was a caase of someone being very hard to please.

Notice you didn't mention about how they went out of their way to do things for you like, changing your bedding from a super king to twin share thet following day as you wish to have separate beds, how they informed you where the local doctors was etc.

One last thing, when making the booking you would have seen the photos of the motel, I must ask if it looked so ugly why did you book?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Manor Motel

Address: 72 Leach Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located & close to CBD, supermarkets, cafes/restaurants, coastal walkway and all major attractions. Our decor is modern; all suites include a chaise lounge and super king beds to ensure comfort, rest and relaxation. All units have air conditioning/heat pumps, double glazed windows, 32" LCD TVs and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Landmark Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.