We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park to your Saves list
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Belt Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the Belt Road Motor Camp. I actually changed me travel dates so i could stay here, as the previous week they were fully booked.
I wouldnt stay anywhere else in New Plymouth, as this place is just so quiet and comfortable, but its the views that cap it off.
Look, if you are really picky, and want 5 star luxury, then dont come here. But if you want the best views in town, a comfortable and quiet nights sleep, and friendly staff, then this is the place for you.
Yes you have to bring a sheet and duvet (or rent from the office) and a bar of soap...is that a big deal? There was a fridge and microwave and all other things you may need in the cabin. It was so clean and bright, the bed was comfy, I could lay in the bed and watch the new TV on the wall at the end of my bed, or look out to the sea which is right in front of my door.
They have new bikes for rent at $5 an hour, so you can ride the walkway which is something you have to do, its outstanding. Also visit Pukekura Park, which is the best city park in New Zealand, and its start at almost the city center.
I went to a buffet restaurant which is on Devon Street West and it costs $17, and the it is one of the best buffets I have been to. Ask the staff at the Motor camp, they will give you the address.
Anyway look at my photos of the views from my front door.....I will surely be back again one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are having stunning weather at the moment, so it makes our breathtaking sea views really unbeatable. Cycling the walkway is a New Plymouth must do and you couldn't have chosen a better day for it! Also we were glad to be able to enhance your stay by recommending dining options and cycling route tips. We look forward to seeing you back at the park again. Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
26
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Came to New Plymouth for a two night stay and booked because close to the harbour and city centre. Check in efficient and the cabin- 2 bedroom and new was very comfortable. Great value for the money and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Get one of the new cabins. Clean,comfortable and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park and we highly recommend it. We often visit New Plymouth and have found the self-contained cabins/units are great alternative to booking a hotel. The staff were very helpful when we had to change our dates last minute and the cabin itself was very clean with a great view looking straight out to the ocean. Note - It's not far from the main centre but recommend having a car to get around from here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful night here on our trip north. We parked on the cliff overlooking the sea and wharf area. we were in a camper but used the facilities including kitchen which were good and well serviced. We will stay there again, even if we have to make a long detour!! we want to spend more time there as the area needs our exploration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hubby and I stayed in one of the one bedroom self contained units on the hill with fab views of the Ocean and Port and Lees Breakwater,we even got up early in the morning to watch a boat come into Port,it came right in,almost in front of our Cabin too. Very clean facilities and very handy to the walkway,we enjoyed our quiet break and intend to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your review. We value your feedback and look forward to your return. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at this camp twice in recent months. Both times stayed in self contained unit. Very clean facilities and very helpful staff. The camp is centrally located within New Plymouth so we could walk to town, down the breakwater. The mountain can be seen from the camp - it looked glorious. Great to look out over the port and watch all the comings and goings. A very relaxing stay in a warm and well appointed unit. thank you for another great visit. I will be back.

Room Tip: Good for a sea view and to watch ships enter and leave the port. Sunny porch to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kauwhata, null, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a motel studio unit, but when we arrived we had a family cabin made up as a motel room. The room was clean but for the extra money we paid we were expecting one of the 2 motel studios. We have stayed there before and know the layout, and purposefully chose that room for the view, privacy and layout. We were not informed that those units were not available but were still charged full price for a lesser room.
The facilities were clean and tidy. Staff was ok

Room Tip: Be specific in the type of accommodation you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We will look into the issues and ensure this does not happen again. We welcome the feedback and hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park

Address: 2 Belt Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.