We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Motel !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lockwood Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lockwood Manor Motel to your Saves list
Lockwood Manor Motel
47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Good Motel !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Kelly was a superb host, the motel is clean, well presented and really different in that it is a lockwood property. Stay at this motel in N Plymouth, hard to find one better there

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    43
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
73
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Kelly-Anne and David went beyond our expectations to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. great accommodation, especially the adjoining rooms which are an essential when staying with young kids. great knowledge regarding the area, anything they don't know immediately they are willing to find out.

Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We discovered a fantanstic place to stay. Kelly-Anne and David were extremely welcoming and very friendly. They were most understanding of families travelling with small children and most helpful and knowlegable about the region. The room was beautifully presented and well laid out with above average fittings. Everything was well thought out and all we needed for a great stay. Only spent one night but wished it could have been a week. We can't recommend this place highly enough. We will tell anyone and everyone how great the place was. Given the chance, we will definetely revisit and for much longer next time. Thanks again for a wonderful experience at this beautiful motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here, one of the cleanest motels I have ever experienced. Rooms were great and the owners/managers very accommodating and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Comfortable spacious units , underfloor heating and fantastic shower. All the extra touches make the difference. The hosts fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

From start to finish - when you decide to go to New Plymouth you must stop in and stay at Lockwood Manor Motel - if you want great service and superior rooms (super clean and kitchenette - great) and a comfortable, warm and cozy night - then that is the place to go! And the best part of the "5 Star" quality is that the price isn't! Very affordable! The owners/operators are very friendly and ready to help and they make the stay one to remember - ask them anything and they look into it and they are ready with an answer. The location is great! Short walk into town and views of the mountain and the sea also in easy walking distance. We will not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

While choosing your accommodation from websites can lead to disappointment, we were extremely pleased when we arrived at and saw the standard of accommodation offered by the Lockwood Manor Motel at a reasonable price. My wife and I and three of our colleagues were all pleased with and complimentary of our three rooms which were generous in size and well fitted out with good looking furnishings. Underfloor heating and the provision of bathrobes added a touch of luxury. The shower pressure was impressive and the double glazed windows did ensure that we were not disturbed by external noise through the night. The only noise was caused by the high water pressure which could be heard when we or the unit next door used a tap or shower etc. The only other slightly inconvenient factor was the road access to the motel which requires crossing a busy road and knowing where to wait to cross safely without holding up traffic - if you need details as to what this means, contact the motel as they are very helpful. We have stayed at a reasonable number of motels and hotels in NZ and overseas and have never stayed at any motel as clean as this one. We were in New Plymouth for a conference and none of the numerous colleagues who I spoke to were as happy with their accommodation as we were with ours. Our hosts, David and Kelly-Ann, were extremely friendly and helpful and can be proud of the service that they are providing. Keep up the good work and we will see you next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lockwood Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.