We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional service. Impressed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lockwood Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lockwood Manor Motel to your Saves list
Lockwood Manor Motel
47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional service. Impressed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

What impressive service we received from checking in to checking out. No request was too much for our family. The units were immaculate and the kiddies enjoyed the bickies with the condiments. We booked 2 joining rooms- best thing we have ever done! Reasonable too. Kids had their own space and we did too.

Fantastic attention to detail. Friendly service from the owners to the cleaners who wished us a safe trip. Just beautiful. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Joining rooms work well for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the space that the 2 rooms gave you and the children. So pleased that you were impressed with the service, it should always be that way.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    43
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
73
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Has to rate as good as any motel/hotel accommodation we have experienced, at any price, and the price wasn't bad. Room was spacious, clean, well fitted out with best quality furniture, cutlery, crockery etc. Reasonably priced laundry facility. Nice big telly, very generous free wi-fi data allocation. Spotless roomy shower/toilet area. Located pretty handy to CBD and numerous eateries, supermarkets and garage (with carwash!) Close to main south traffic way but surprisingly quiet. Friendly helpful owners.
Will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Great review, thank-you for your time in writing it.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Couldn't fault this motel. Location excellent. Walking distance to CBD and Coastal Walkway.
Unit was spotless, large, and very well appointed. Free Wi-Fi was trouble free, and quick access.
Large number of good restaurants available, some within walking distance, and others, just a short drive away.
Only a half hour drive to the north summit information in the Egmont National Park.

Room Tip: No restaurant or pool to rate. There is traffic noise as motel close to main road, but it didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, & we would love to have you back.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIUKU
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went to New Plymouth for 4 nights over WOMAD weekend. Stayed here and it is by far and away the best motel we have ever stayed in. We have travelled all through NZ and USA staying mainly in motels and found this one to be in a class of its own. Everything about it was superior and if it was a hotel would rate up there with the best. On return visits to New Plymouth, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Was a little concerned that there would be traffic noise as the unit we had was near the road, but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks for your great review about Lockwood Manor, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Spotlessly clean, well-appointed, full kitchenette, comfortable bed, GREAT shower, well laid out room. TV/wifi great. Good value. We traveled NZ for a month and found this to be one of the best places we stayed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Fantastic Allen! Thanks for your great review so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Kind Regards
Kelly-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Booked here online but never stayed as had family emergency they used our visa card and debited the room over a month later. BE AWARE, stay somewhere else. I will be telling every company i know not to book there staff there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Unfortunately this aspect of no shows in our business is the most difficult to deal with but thankfully it is one that does not happen often.

We had a two night online booking from this guest and began trying to make contact with his mobile number during the evening to make sure he was coming (at 9:07, 9:19 and 10:03) but could only leave a message through to his voicemail.

After a further phone attempt the following morning to try and work out why he didn’t show, with no luck, I tried calling from my mobile which immediately got through. After a quick introduction the guest hung up on me, with no mention of any family emergency or reason for his no show.

It was this response, together with his not replying to our voice messages and not answering his phone when the caller ID obviously showed it was our motel calling that led us to believe that he decided to not travel to New Plymouth and simply couldn’t be bothered to call us to cancel.

When we tried to take payment from the visa details provided it declined due to insufficient funds. Only when we were finalizing our debtors recently did we try the card again, hence it being over a month later.

If there was a family emergency then of course we would have removed the booking regardless of any cancellation policy, even though we were full that night and had been turning guests away.

In regards to the be aware comment – we try and be as accommodating as possible, and regularly relax our cancellation policies. But no shows seriously affect our business and if we receive no contact then we honestly believe we are entitled to recoup our losses. In this case we are still out of pocket as we only charged the one night rather than the two booked.

It’s unfortunate you would tell every company you know not to stay here, we try hard to please all our guests as shown on other comments, and have a very loyal base of corporate/family regulars who enjoy staying with us.

David Cruikshank.
Manager Lockwood Manor Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at the Lockwood in February 2014. Very close to shopping and the CBD of New Plymouth what really appealed to me was the beautifully appointed rooms. The kitchen was complete in every way, the TV had Pay TV access not like other Hotels and Motels where the range is appalling. Internet access was excellent and they even have in the room an umbrella. Like this is attention to detail or what ! The vaulted ceilings made the rooms visually big and the beds where also very good to sleep in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank-you very much for your review! Glad you liked the selection of TV channels with sky 50+ . And Yes we find an umbrella sometimes can come in handy during your stay :). Kind regards Kelly-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lockwood Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.