We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lockwood Manor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lockwood Manor Motel to your Saves list
Lockwood Manor Motel
47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Wellington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Well run, well situated, well appointed and best of all scrupulously clean. Comfy beds, Sky TV, free wifi and even an umbrella in every room should you find Taranaki's famous rain. New Plymouth is a choice little town and this is a great little motel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank-you so much for your review! Very happy you found your room scrupulously clean that's how it should be always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    43
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
74
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Cosy, clean, spacious room with nice interior decor. Great little kitchenette with good cooking facilities. Guests can borrow bikes free of charge to go cycling which is a good thing to do. Hosts are very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank-you very much for your time in writing your review, very please you liked you room and got out for a bike ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice little hotel right off the freeway. Lockwood rooms were very clean and has everything you need for a short stay in Taranaki, including French press coffee, a mini- fridge and even snacks available for purchase in the room. This hotel was recently updated and very comfortable. I give it 5 stars because it met our expectations, not because it’s a 5 star hotel. My only advice is to give them a heads up if you are going to have a late arrival, as we had to wake up the manager to get our key and she had to answer the door in her P.J’s.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank-you for your review, very pleased to see that you thought our rooms were good value. Thanks also for a great tip if you are arriving late its good to know, as we do have a lock box for your key ....( then you won't catch me sleeping :)) . Our office closes a 9pm on weekdays and 8pm at the weekends. Its also great to leave a mobile number if possible also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Lockwood Manor is a great value Motel, in a good location. Extremely friendly and welcoming on my arrival and the room was very clean with all the facilities you would need. Definitely a. Place I would go back to next time I'm in New Plymouth.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad that you found your room clean and good value its on top of my list when looking for a room myself. We will look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Luckily for us stumbled upon Lockwood Manor. Stayed in a studio unit which was inviting, clean and comfortable, offset with modern furniture. Didn't feel like a motel room. Mocconna coffee sachets (yaye), well-stocked kitchen with fridge big enough to accommodate our food and drinks. Generous fluffy towels and nice robes. Great attention to detail. Parking convenient right outside unit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank-you for stumbling upon us! and for your lovely review. Good Coffee and fluffy towels is a must!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a last minute booking to visit Taranaki and arrived to find Kelly-Anne on reception and David mowing the lawns.
Both are very proud of their property and it shows in the attention to those small details.
Very helpful with suggestions of where to eat,things to do and offered Free Wifi without asking :) nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are very modern, cosy and clean and the staff are friendly....What more could you want?

Would recommend Lockwood Manor to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Awesome review thanks! We do love Lockwood Manor and do try our best with the property as it is a family business. We are totally here to help when we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the Lockwood Manor In last week while working in New Plymouth.
Very Clean, well situated, only a small amount of road noise, internet and full sky in rooms excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff . All in all grate value and will use again when next in the Naki..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad that you had a nice stay, and we were happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#3 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lockwood Manor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.