We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

Flamingo Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
Flamingo Motel
355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 0508, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice 2 night stay at the Flamingo Motel. Used this place as a stay when visiting Mount Taranaki. Place is very clean and quiet. Best part is the indoor hot swimming pool. Amazing for a bit of relaxation after climbing the mountain. Didn't brave the outdoor pool as it is winter! Cooking facilities were good, only complain is the light for the lounge was very bright to the extent it hurt our eyes. Other than that the owners were very nice and friendly. Fantastic stay will return.

Room Tip: Bargain and you might get a bit knocked off
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here when we first moved to new plymouth and were sorting out rental accommodation for us. The hosts were very friendly. My kids liked the outdoor swimming pool.But they just loved to play in the outdoor trampolene and kids zone in the motel. The indoor heated swimming pool was great for relaxation again my kids loved playing here. The ameneties in hotel were good enough and most of all they had comfy beds. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were all (four of us) very disappointed in our recent stay at the Flamingo. It did not deliver on most of the facts on their website, which quoted "quiet, comfortable, refurbished, modern fittings". Our unit was very close to the main road enroute to the Surf Highway so was extremely noisy; was dark and dingy, had no "modern fittings" and had not been refurbished for many years - the carpet was stained, needed cleaning and there was a musty odour on entry.
The owners were lovely people but this wasn't enough to make our stay enjoyable or one we would repeat.

Room Tip: Check whether the unit has been refurbished and request one at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here with my teenage son and found the place really enhanced our trip. The motel's swimming pools made for an extra bonus, something to do while not doing touristy things, and being hot as well as cool suited both the younger and older family members! Unit was well appointed with everything you could need, and big enough to spread out in. We appreciated being able to leave windows open at night thanks to their being fitted with security stays. Would certainly return, maybe even with grandies as there is a lovely family feeling around the play area and pool.

Room Tip: Quite a busy road so back units are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It’s taken a long time to write but stayed here in September 2011 for the Rugby World Cup.
We stayed here for 4 nights whilst watching a rugby match.

The motel was just like a mini home and we all loved it and if visiting New Plymouth would recommend it.

We had a very good kitchen with most things you could ask for including dishwasher, microwave, fridge etc. A washing machine and dryer were available on site at a very low cost. We had 2 bedrooms and a lounge with a sofa bed that were very comfortable.
The motel was very comfortable, clean and tidy and well looked after.

It also had a heated indoor and outdoor pool, but being September the indoor was only in operation. However this was lovely and very quite in the mornings so you could just relax for hours.

The owners were very accommodating and would help you with anything you needed or wanted with no trouble at all.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then ask for an room on the side or at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in early 2013 and really enjoyed ourselves. As you read elsewhere the place has been there a while but the outdoor facilities and friendly owners make it all the more comfortable. The outdoor pool, trampoline and heated pool were all well used by the kids and it was great to have some grass for them to run about on in safety.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter and easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have stayed here a few years ago so decided to try for a one night stay as many motels seemed only to go for minimum 2 nights. From first phone contact to departure a marvellous experience and so friendly. The outdoor pool was devine and so refreshing. A great place for a family stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 0508, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.