We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Popular Local Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pig and Whistle Historic Pub

Pig and Whistle Historic Pub
Cnr Haupapa and Tutanekai Streets, Rotorua, New Zealand
+64 7-347 3025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 147 restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Visit the Pig & Whistle Historic Pub and enjoy the warm historic atmosphere of one of the most popular bars in Rotorua. Stella Artois and Becks on tap, Kopiko Bay wines, great pub food and live entertainment every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Our friendly staff will make your visit one you'll want to repeat.Centrally located in a classic piece of bold 1940's architecture, the Pig & Whistle is a local landmark with a great history.Our pub menu includes favourites like Seafood Chowder, New Zealand Lamb Salad and Pork Spare Ribs and we cater to children also. Our Snack Menu is available from 11.30am till Close, 7 Days a week and we have a great selection of desserts.The Pig & Whistle has live bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Find out the up and coming bands on our Entertainment page.We have big screen Hi Definition Sky Digital TV. Catch your favourite sport on one of the big screens.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Extremely Popular Local Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've eaten and drunk at the Pig & Whistle several times when visiting Rotorua. The Pub, located in what was once the local Police Station, is always popular with locals and visitors alike. We'd advise you to get in early if you want to eat there as the dining area gets full very quickly which can mean a long wait before you can order. However, if you're not too worried about when to eat just relax over a generous beer or wine and enjoy the conversation and atmosphere of a friendly local pub.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    153
    145
    49
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Pub Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant, or rather Pub, after driving by and then checking TripAdvisor. I had the beef schnitzel and my wife had the fish and chips. Both came with chips and salad and were very filling. I have never cared for the practice of placing your order at the bar but I understand this is the way it is done in pub's. The atmosphere was enjoyable and it certainly is popular based on the crowd. I would not hesitate going here again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good pub fare and big portions ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Came here after luging with two kids. Ribs were huge and my 13 year old son couldn't finish them which is a first! The sauce was a bit too sweet thought. The lamb salad was very good and the nachos were fairly good with a very large portion size again.....even the small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't order the ribs - Unless you are really hungry - Good Pub Grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have eaten here on many occasions and really enjoy whatever I order off the menu, plenty of choice and plenty on your plate, good value for money!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Came in here for lunch after a friend recommended it. The staff are nice and friendly with excellent service. The food is really good too but the menu could have a few more veggie options. The outside seating area is really nice with a great atmosphere.
We would go back if we were in Rotorua for longer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig and Whistle Historic Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Pig and Whistle Historic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig and Whistle Historic Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.