We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab motel with your own hot pool & the lovely Alan to help you out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab motel with your own hot pool & the lovely Alan to help you out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a great motel, in a great location, an easy short walk to the town centre where all the bars and resturants are and a short drive from all the major attractions in Rotorua (they're all spread apart and are a short drive from town).

The rooms are spacious and really nicely furnished, but the best bit has to be the hot pool that you get with your room - your own hot pool heated by the thermals. My partner and I really enjoyed a glass of wine looking up at the stars. Fabulous!

Alan the owner is a real joy, and can give you advice and directions on all the local attractions - an absolute star. The dog is also really cute and frendly and a great opportunity for a cuddle.

Would definately recommend the Victoria Lodge for value, quality and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaLodge, Owner at Victoria Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. Alan like to make sure everyone has a really good time when they stay with us and having been here for six years, he knows all the best places to visit and things to do and see. Asterix and Sirius are the stars. They love a cuddle and tummy scratch and never turn down a treat. Thanks for staying with us and for your kind words. Regards from Prue and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    44
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
76
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The owners made me feel really welcome and were very keen to ensure that I had a good time in NZ. They even arranged a rainforest trek for me! All in all, an incredibly friendly and comfortable place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaLodge, Owner at Victoria Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Hi Istvan
That Eco Tour is just the best. I have done that tour and loved it. It's worth spending an extra day in Rotorua just to take the trip. Thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company and hope you will come again and send your friends to stay. All the best.
Prue and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Victoria Lodge is really magnificent: very clean spacious rooms, private thermal pool, new and comfortable furniture, position close to the city center. The rooms are very well thought out, they have a lot of nice features, such as normal ground coffee and plunger, microwave, a sufficient number of outlets and so on.
We would especially like to mention how friendly and helpful the owners were. Alan and Pru are very warm hospitable people, they helped us with every question we had and provided all information needed to have a nice time in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaLodge, Owner at Victoria Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Thanks for the super compliments. It just makes our day when our guests have a lovely time here. We always supply nice little extra goodies like plunger coffee, hot chocolate and cookies. Our guests do enjoy them. Hope you can visit again and spend more time here in the adventure capital. Kind Regards.
Prue and Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

After a few weeks which we had spent in hostels we want something more luxorius..this is the place to be. A very large bed, microwave, large tv, table with chairs, a fridge, nice bathroom and our own private thermal pool outside.The room was very clean and in walking distance of the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Prue gave so much info on arrival about local events involving locals, I was well impressed, you must visit the local market on Thursday evening. All nice and clean, again only going to stay one night but stayed two! Must have a go in the thermal spa brilliant

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This is my second review of this motel, the first was less than forgiving and this one more so.

We decided to give this place another try as it mentioned the rooms had been refurbished; we booked for new years eve and day, admittedly a busy period. My mum was urgently scheduled for a hip replacement post our reservation and is currently recovering, I called as soon as she told me she may not quite be up to the trip in time for our booking (7 days ahead) and was advised that there was a cancellation fee of 20%. I asked if this was due to it being christmas (usually it's 48 hrs for most places) and was advised no it's all year round and then the lady ( heavy australian accent) started to very rudely spiel about how they'd held the room for us and that the fees are clearly stated in their t&cs, easily available on their site ( which at this time is not true, i had to find them in the end by trying to make another booking, even then you only get a link which let's be honest less than 10% of people would ever click and I admit I didn't) and would now have trouble selling the room. I did not get upset though until I advised the circumstances of the cancellation and heard their response... Which was "humph, yeah' sure". Disgusting.

Needless to say the owners of the other motel I also had to cancel were very polite and wished my mum well, polar opposites of these rude, rude people ( no charge either as their notification period was the usual 48 hrs). If you're going to charge exorbitant cancellation fees with notice requirements far different from the norm, you should at the very least CLEARLY advertise it on the booking page, not hide it in a link and pretend that's enough. And you should not make matters worse by scoffing at a real life, upsetting and stressful situation (if the motel reads this, I'm happy to provide all sorts of evidence that it was not a made up story). That was this motel's last shot with me and they failed miserably with their rudeness.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaLodge, Owner at Victoria Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Angela Turrall

Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns over our cancellation policy. As you are aware, most businesses that take online reservations, memberships and orders, have a cancellation policy, which is always ticked off as being understood and accepted by the person who orders the services or goods, before the order is accepted online.

In your particular case, we explained that we would adhere to our written policy which you signed off when you reserved the room. We also have an unwritten policy, so that if we are able to resell the room, then we do not charge the guest for the cancellation. We are not able to do this all the time, but in your case, we did manage to resell the room. When you look at your credit card statement, you will notice that no charge has been made for cancelling your booking.

We have left several messages over the past week on your phone to advise you of this, but you have not been available and have not returned the call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Had an enjoyable two night stay here on a recommendation from friends. Lovely welcome on arrival by the owner, with plenty of tips and assistance on what to do in the area, where to eat and how to get about. Provided a cot for the baby also.
Accomodation was comfortable, however the room was pretty small (just managed to squeeze in the baby's cot !!) and whilst generally clean enough, not as spotless as some of the other reviews make out - maybe ours was not the norm. Otherwise enjoyed our stay - thanks for putting us up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Address: 10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart comfortable 4 Star Victoria Lodge in Rotorua. Walk to restaurants shops cafes bars lakefront attractions. Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet recommended. Cosy Studios for 1-3 people with your own private thermally heated hot pool. Two bedroom self-contained apartments for families or small groups. SKY Guest Select 50+ channels. Pet friendly rooms available! Friendly and knowledgeable hosts Kasia and Shane will provide information and make reservations for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.