We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitai Maori Village

Mitai Maori Village
196 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
+ 64 7 3439132
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I loved the reinforcement of the Maori traditions this experience provided. I have been in New Zealand for three months and going to this experience really connected a lot of dots for me about the Maori Culture. The food was pretty good, the entertainment was amazing and the atmosphere was great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    255
    67
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Meet the Mitai family?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I don't know if many of the Mitai family are represented but the show they put on is very entertaining and informative. Good narration by the host and a good introduction to the Maori culture. Maybe it's a bit too touristic for some but assuming that the elements of the show are not purely a figment of someones imagination who care it's fun. As far as the Hakka is concerned I am not sure I would stay around to find out if it was a welcome or not! As a value for money exercise we were collected from our hotel in a somewhat elderly coach and delivered safely to the village where we were introduced to the Hangi ( the meats cooked in a pit ) that we would eat later. We were then shepherded to the show 'stage' and were given the evenings main entertainment. Following on from the displays and songs we were ushered into the eating hall via a glow worm dell. The food was laid out on tables and proved to be both good quality and pleantyful. After eating and further explanations/questions by hosts and guests we made our way via buses back to our hotel.
A very enjoyable experience well worth the cost and the time taken from our tight itinerary.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We selected this "Maori Hangi Feast based on a recommendation from our hotel and were very pleased with this experience.They pick you up at your hotel and return you back after the dinner and cultural experience. Both the dinner and the performance were excellent as we gained a great deal of interesting information about the Maori culture in New Zealand.We also learned that there are a lot of competing activities/experiences in Rotorua and we would suggest you check with your hotel as you really only need to have one Maori Hangi Feast [cultural experience] and one thermal/volcanic experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by just how good our night at the Mitai Maori village was. There was so much crammed into the night, it was fantastic. The staff/entertainers were great, seeing the glowworms was really cool and so was the fairy spring, it was very informative and best of all was the food. There was something for everyone with lots of healthy options. Loads of choice for me as a vegetarian - best meal I have had in ages and great pavlova!

I will be recommending this to any friends that go to Rotorua

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Read the "Terrible" reviews first - I wish I did before we decided to go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went last night after agonizing over which of the many Rotorua Maori "experiences" we should attend, and were swayed by all the "Excellent" reviews here. Needless to say, we were very disappointed. Now, too late, I have read the few "Terrible" reviews, and they are all spot-on and quite accurate - the big tent, loud traffic noise from the highway, herded like cattle, cheesy banter, poor quality performance, good food (but no better than a pub buffet), feeling of being ripped off

Worst thing about it all is how it seems to have so little respect for the culture it is claiming to celebrate. We saw the cultural performance at the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and it was fabulous - spine tingling, emotional and heartfelt - with only 7 performers! At Mitai it was all cheese and no heart - Disney-style village mockup, warrior chief with smart-alec punchlines, background performers chatting amongst themselves while "serious" stuff was going on in front. Even the dramatic arrival of the warriors in their canoe was an isolated event, happening in a different part of the grounds, unconnected to the main show a short frog-march away.

We then stayed on for the extra-cost Kiwi encounter at the bird park next door - more money wasted. Basically a guided march through the whole park, mostly not looking at Kiwi. The few minutes we did spend in the Kiwi enclosure were spent peering into the dark, getting excited about glimpses of Kiwi silhouettes amongst the undergrowth - Kiwis are nocturnal, it was night-time and the park respects them enough to keep them in the dark - all excellent practice, but hardly worthwhile for us hoping to see something. No "behind the scenes" stuff, visiting the hatchery or seeing chicks being fed - this only happens on the day-time tours, we were told. Great!

So, read the "Terrible" reviews before you waste your money - you'll see that they are calm, considered, intelligent reviews - and from my experience, very accurate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitai Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mitai Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitai Maori Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.