We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Spa Motor Inn to your Saves list
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this motel for 2 nights during our quick fire stay at Rotorua. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and contain a large jacuzzi bath which was noisy but very comfortable. The motel is situated a little away from Rotorua town centre however is only a 2minute drive so not an issue if you have a car. There is lots of parking available and an outside pool, however we did not use this facility as it was raining during our stay. The hotel provides free wifi as an added bonus and basic kitchen amenities if you feel like staying in for dinner. I would definitely recommend this motel to others, we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a nice relaxing time. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    46
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
48
122
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston north
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Happy with our choice of motel, clean, comfortable, nice decor and spa, very helpful hosts. Son enjoyed the pool, a little distance from town, lakes and tourist attractions, but fine if you have a car. Good car parking outside unit. I would try a top floor unit next time, probably a bit more private. Thank you

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This motel was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 pleasant nights. The room was decent, but not the best, however, there was a huge hot tub/jacuzzi. There was a decent amount of parking available.
Probably the biggest negative is the location. It is too far to comfortably walk to town meaning either a taxi or driving.
Although there is nothing that the motel can do about it, my wife found the sulphurous smell unpleasant (I suppose part of the Rotorua experience). I, on the other hand, hardly smelt anything at the motel and inside the room it wasn't a major problem for my wife.
Even though I wouldn't say this was the greatest place I've stayed, it wasn't bad either. I would consider staying again but might choose a more central location first.

Room Tip: Maybe, a first floor is better than ground floor as a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Reception/Manager lady was very friendly and offered me a nice cold beer on arrival along with some other treats to eat. Rooms where quiet, with no street noise. Room was clean and tidy with new and modern furnishings. Shower had good water pressure. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank's very much Cameron for the lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this.
We try to make the stay enjoyable for people that are on the road travelling for business.
Hope we see you on your next trip to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We highly recommend this Motor Inn. Particularly enjoyed the Spa after a long journey. Located very handy to all facilities. Welcoming Owner/Manager. Everything supplied. Very quiet considering the location.
Glenys and Robert

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Glenys and Robert for taking the time and giving us a great review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spa bath. It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The managers were very welcoming upon arrival and personally accompanied us to the room, which I thought was a very personal touch. The room was comfortable and clean and we enjoyed our three night stay. The hotel is a bit of a way out of Rotorua, though a walk in to town was not arduous. Wifi was provided complimentary, which we appreciated. The lady on the front desk was always happy to help, making telephone calls to book tours for us or make enquiries on our behalf. I did anticipate the hotel would be noisy, given it's location on a main road, however we were pleasantly surprised. We were located in an upstairs apartment at the back though. I would probably stay here again if we were to visit Rotorua again. Pleasant, comfortable stay and good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear you had an enjoyable time with us and exploring Rotorua. Only to happy to help with booking your tours. All our doors and windows have hush glazing to keep out the noise. Hope to see you again some time. All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed the long weekend in October with families. We had 2 family rooms, one upper and one lower. Quiet place considering it's located in Fenton Street. Rooms are very clean and utilities are well equipped. There is a spa in each bathroom and it was fantastic! Kids loved it so much. Didn't use the pool outside as it was raining but looks nice. Beds were comfy, cleaners come to tidy room every morning and they do a great job. Location is superb - 10mins walk to the supermarket, across the road are the eateries. Another 10 mins you'll reach the city centre. Owner is very friendly and helpful - thanks for the little basket of freebies. Kids loved them. Have stayed in many motels/hotel in Rotorua - Emerald is one of the best ones I must say, better than some many stars hotels. Family-friendly, convenient, clean and comfortable. Will be my top choice for our next stay. Thank You!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased you had a lovely time and the children enjoyed the spa bath. I will pass your nice comments on to our housekeepers. Look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with a heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and gym.28 luxurious suites-studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and kitchenettes.Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions.Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Spa Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.