We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikau

Nikau
Eruera Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
07 347 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 146 restaurants in Rotorua
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Porirua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had 2 dinners at Nikau during the school holidays.It had special dinner on weekdays. Our friends and we all enjoyed the steak and chips on a Monday night and we tried the mussel pot later of the week.

We enjoyed our meals but if the waiting time for the food to come could be reduced that would be wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    8
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A wonderful place to dine, with friendly staff, amazing food and an excellent range of menu choices.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“promised more than delivered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A tired looking restaurant in a chain hotel. The service was nice & friendly, the food average. The lobster special for $25 should have have been a warning, why import small Canadian lobsters & serve with frozen chips?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soeul
2 reviews
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

visit nikau for dinner - lovely food, great athmosphere amd staff are very good. they have good selection of many winrs from Australia and New Zealand

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“:( Big let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As we were staying at the Millennium hotel and were quite tired one evening, we decided to have dinner at the hotel’s restaurant. What a mistake!
In sum up: even if service is ok, the place itself is a bit boring/old, but most of all the food is tasteless/ bland/ not generously served for the price you pay. I had the Trio of Salmon which was a big let down, was super small, almost no veggies to go with the fish, and costed more than $30!
My partner got the “Burrito Chicken special” (on Tuesdays only) for $18 which was pretty much a dry & tasteless chicken wrap you could get for $8 anywhere else. It kind of make you wonder if the Chef has ever had a Mexican burrito in his life…
Anyway not sure if they changed their Chef recently, because I don't understand the great previous reviews..?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikau also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Nikau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.