We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place if you have kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capers Epicurean

Capers Epicurean
1181 Eruera St, Rotorua, New Zealand
(07) 348 8818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 152 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Capers opened in October 2001 and has a passion to provide fresh quality food in an environment that caters equally well for breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee to go or a take home meal. Stocking a wide range of both New Zealand and imported goodies including oils, rubs, preserves, chocolates, teas, balsamic vinegars, dressings, curry pastes, syrups, sauces along with Zarbo and Sabato products the Capers Specialty Foods Section appeals to the everyday home chef, gift hunter and the discerning foodie.Here at Capers making coffee is an art form and the way that coffee is made is distinctively different throughout the world. New Zealanders generally prefer a more milky mix than our classic European counterparts.We have developed our own recipes for the traditional coffees sold in New Zealand but ask us for your favourites – we will know how to make it. The FREDS (Freshly Roasted Every Day) coffee used at Capers contains A Grade PNG, Colombian Excelso (medellin) and Kenyan AA.Children love to escape to the playroom to explore some of the interactive toys attached to the wall or be entertained by a series of (G) rated children’s videos.The Capers team have celebrated and been proud of their success in being named Rotorua Café of the Year in 2002 and 2003, Runner Up 2004, Cafe of the Year 2006 and 2007 and again in 2009. Keeping up with their prior success, Capers has been named, once again, Cafe of the Year 2011. Come in and try our winning formula of great food and superior staff.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place if you have kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

we had breakfast and a late night dessert here. we had 2 young children with us and found the kids room great, it played movies and kept the kids entertained for ages while we could eat our breakfast in peace. they had large cabinet displays full of tempting foods. we had the eggs benedict and a full breakfast and cakes too, everything was very nice, found the coffee a bit bitter tho

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    99
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hidden away from popular 'eat street' but still only a short walk away is Capers. The food is fantastic and I highly recommend a visit to this place. It is a relaxed atmosphere with amazingly friendly staff who will ensure that you are being looked after. If you are full then ask for a dessert to take away, the brownie and the caramel and pecan brioche were superb.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was sorry we didn't get a chance to try Capers for dinner. We've now had two breakfasts there, and have found the food to be very well prepared and good value. In addition to the great food, the shop portion is a foodies' dream with lots of interesting foods to buy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cafe food at restaurant prices. Self service let's them down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading trip advisor reviews we thought we'd try this place. Also all the restaurants in Eat street were full and had long wait times for meals. I had the chicken platter which was very nice and my husband ordered the seafood chowder and fillet steak which they brought out together! We had to tell them to take back chowder as he couldn't eat both together!!! This is a self service cafe but they don't tell you that. We figured out that we had to get our own cutlery and water. For the prices they charge it should be included in the service. Overall this is nice cafe food at restaurant prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stained tea cups, dirty china.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Capers always has reliably good food, their service is swift and eating there is usually without drama.
I had a lovely piece of lemon tart there today...great...well made.
But...the state of the inside of the teacup almost put me off wanting to pour a cup of tea.
Stained...ick!
Please Jif your teacups more often.
Also teapot and plate were both dirty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers Epicurean also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capers Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capers Epicurean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.