We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely during the day, good evening fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capers Epicurean

Capers Epicurean
1181 Eruera St, Rotorua, New Zealand
+64 7-348 8818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Family Fare, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Capers opened in October 2001 and has a passion to provide fresh quality food in an environment that caters equally well for breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee to go or a take home meal. Stocking a wide range of both New Zealand and imported goodies including oils, rubs, preserves, chocolates, teas, balsamic vinegars, dressings, curry pastes, syrups, sauces along with Zarbo and Sabato products the Capers Specialty Foods Section appeals to the everyday home chef, gift hunter and the discerning foodie.Here at Capers making coffee is an art form and the way that coffee is made is distinctively different throughout the world. New Zealanders generally prefer a more milky mix than our classic European counterparts.We have developed our own recipes for the traditional coffees sold in New Zealand but ask us for your favourites – we will know how to make it. The FREDS (Freshly Roasted Every Day) coffee used at Capers contains A Grade PNG, Colombian Excelso (medellin) and Kenyan AA.Children love to escape to the playroom to explore some of the interactive toys attached to the wall or be entertained by a series of (G) rated children’s videos.The Capers team have celebrated and been proud of their success in being named Rotorua Café of the Year in 2002 and 2003, Runner Up 2004, Cafe of the Year 2006 and 2007 and again in 2009. Keeping up with their prior success, Capers has been named, once again, Cafe of the Year 2011. Come in and try our winning formula of great food and superior staff.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely during the day, good evening fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have enjoyed many a coffee and cake visit to capers, so decided to try it out for dinner on my birthday. The food was delicious and plentiful, the chicken platter cam with a whole loaf of bread! One of the waitresses (sadly, I've forgotten her name) was particularly helpful and attentive. Not a lot of ambience in the evening, but plenty during the day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    116
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and a great Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are locals and haven't eaten out much this last NZ winter so it was good to head to Capers for a spring time brunch with out of town friends - and realise it is still as great as ever. Friendly service as always...
Good choices, too, with counter food or off the menu..our friends have just been in Europe and were impressed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to go back to in future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We walked past capers this afternoon feeling a bit peckish and ready for a bite. Great choices in breakfast, although it would have been nice to have choice of lunch like dishes. Anyway, i chose the bagel with salmon which was nicely presented and a good portion! My partner had the eggs benedict and though it stated three eggs, the portion of muffin split wasnt very big, and he would have liked to see more sauce (finally a hollandaise sauce which tasted like real hollandaise!)
We both work professionally in hospitality and were pleased to see how well organised front of house is and very happy with quick service, meals took 10 minutes tops, and coffees only 5 minutes! Well done!! We are sure to be back next time we're in rotorua! Also great gifty shop inside:-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really Good Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great staff too, always greeted with a smile. You may go in for a coffee but it is very difficult to ignore their pastries. Very nice which is why we must be coming uop to ahving our 20th experience with them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It quickly became our favourite spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

After reading a new review in Lonely Planet we thought Capers was a 'sure-fire' place to go. so we arriving into Rotorua just after 8.30am and went there for breakfast. We had such a great experience we went there three times in our 4 day stay in the area. They are very accommodating as we asked to tweak a few items on the menu, the food was great, fresh and fast. Laid back atmosphere, we relaxed and made plans for the days ahead and read books. They also do dinner now which we enjoyed on our last night in town, great value and restaurant quality.
They also have a great specialty food shop and deli on site, great pastas, sauces, relishes etc that you can also enjoy at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers Epicurean also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capers Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capers Epicurean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.