We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding day experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aorangi Peak Restaurant

Aorangi Peak Restaurant
353C, Mountain Road | Bay of Plenty, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
+64 7-347 0036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 166 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: There is no other view like the one you'll experience from Aorangi Peak, the site is situated over 2,000 feet high, which is exactly 3 times higher than Sky City tower showcasing a splendid panorama of Rotorua, the spiritual home of New Zealand culture. Aorangi Peak High Land Retreat is just a 15-minute scenic drive from central Rotorua and boasts the highest viewpoint in the district. As a historical iconic location, we offer wide range of facilities for customers such as accommodation, restaurant, shops and deer park. This place will highlight your entire journey and the memories will last forever. We sincerely advise you to bring your camera along to take Rotorua home. This is where you can discover the real beauty of New Zealand has to offer in a setting beyond your imagination.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding day experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our son's wedding was held here last weekend and my wife and I are delighted how it went. Every guest I spoke to afterwards said it was fantastic and loved the venue. During preparations, the owner Paul was a gentleman, accommodating us to make the day special. We had set ideas how the venue should look so we chose to spend a lot of time getting the reception area and grounds exactly how we wanted. Our family has attended many lovely hotel weddings but for us this venue was a great alternative. The bride and groom who chose it did not want hotel style one-size-fits-all…. rather, they saw it has an unparalleled setting (the amazing view), is interesting and different with a vintage / antique feel and it scrubbed up surprisingly well for our event. The staff were excellent on the day and food spot on. Thanks Aorangi Peak.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent food in a classy ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recommended this restaurant by the owner of our motel. The food was excellent, a large range of wine list, very friendly service and panoramic view of Rotorua (I didn't recognize the city wasn't small and so beautiful) Worth every dollar. Best in Rotorua. Must visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
横浜
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great service, delicious food and breathtaking view of Rotorua. It was a great night out. Thank you. we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Anti-Climax”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow, how this plce has taken a dive!!!!....from dead flies on the floor to a dusty knife box!!!...The standard has absolutely gone down a "steep" hill...we were briefly explained the menu and not to what should be expected, basically only being told what the soup was and then the wiater left...not even asking if we were wanting drinks or wanting to order starters...I eventually after 1/2 and hour signalled a waiter to come take our orders and then he says, sorry, you have to wait!!!, we're busy!!!!" there were only four other tables in there!!!...what was worse is he and another waiter couldnt speak frikn english nor understand what we were asking??!!!...I visted here early last year, the plates have grown in size and the food has shrunken!...so not worth the value, I was so underwhelmed by hw this plae has gone and as I went to pay (which make no mistake, I debated!) the matre de grunted at a chinesse patron to "just wait!"...although he wasnt rude to me (lucky for him!). Im not keen at all to recommend ANYBODY to this place, waste of money and then turns out the event after us(the next day) had to take care of the lawns and gardens themselves as the Resturant did not provide the grounds keep service....DISGUSTING AORANGI PEAK!!!! I would not even come back here for a coffee and will most certainly never refer anyone here! Bllaaaahh!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding views don't equal outstanding dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Aorangi Peak unfortunately reinforces the stereotype that a restaurant with a fantastic view very rarely has food to match.

I first visited the restaurant in 1985 when it was brand new. Perched high on a hill far away from Rotorua, it had a spectacular view of the town, lake and surround countryside. The atmosphere and food were special, but to be honest both New Zealand and I were quite different back then with respect to what was "good" food and my expectations of it.

Fast forward to 2012, and the Aorangi Peak is now the oldest restaurant in Rotorua, and has different owners. The town is much larger now and homes line the road leading up to the restaurant. The view however is just as lovely, and while it was blustery and foggy on Christmas night, it was still impressive.

Sadly the dinner was not. To be fair, the staff and service were very good, but the set Christmas menu was tired. Too much emphasis on presentation and not enough emphasis on taste. The main courses were served from a carving station, and while some may appreciate being able to choose from roasted turkey, lamb, ham and beef - they were all dry and overheated from having sat under the heat lamp for a while. It would have been much better to have had fewer options done well, and to order. It seems the restaurant fancies itself as a place for fine dining, and also a place for special occasions, unfortunately the food provided was more the type I expect to find a big catered affairs.

Perhaps it's better to visit Aorangi Peak during the day when you can enjoy the view and simply have a coffee on their outdoor terrace, or a simple lunch.

Just know you are headed up there for the view... it's just that on Christmas $264 NZD is a lot to pay for a nice view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aorangi Peak Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Aorangi Peak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aorangi Peak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.