We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Save
You added Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   723 Tarawera Road, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an unpowered camp site for one night. The location is stunning with the lake right out the front. The perfect place for a quiet get away. Great facilities and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    46
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just 10 minutes drive from Rotorua (joyfully away from the pungent odour) this, well laid out, campground, set on the beautiful blue lake, was a little slice of heaven. We arrived mid afternoon in Spring and even though there was a school party on the site erecting their multitude of tents it was relatively peaceful due to the size of the park. We parked our trusty motorhome (there is plenty of tent space as well as basic accommodations available) on our well appointed site and strolled 2 minutes to the shingle beach next to the lake. The scenery is beautiful, which I know is not unusual in NZ but still noteworthy, as the lake is hugged on all sides by hilly forest.
The staff are incredibly helpful & arranged a few pickups for us for some Rotorua sightseeing (I recommend an evening at Te Puia for a great insight into Maori culture) and there are plenty of walks and watersport activities as well as great mountain bike tracks. They do hold events on the lake so I imagine it gets very busy at these times.
There is only a small shop on site so best to stock up before you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheryl M, Owner at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. Our schools really enjoy coming to Blue Lake so I am pleased they didn't impact on your stay. You are right the lake can be very busy with events but it very rarely closes to swimming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The campground is about 10 min drive out of Rotorua beside the Blue lake. Setting is magnificent and the camp fits in without overpwering the surroundings. There are no fast foods/shops in vicinity just a small camp store. We had a basic cabin for 1 night and it was very good value for money. Clean, modern, comfortable with fridge, kettle and bottom sheets on the beds. As experienced motorhome campers we were very impressed with the well laid out pitches.

Room Tip: There are some older cabins at the front of camp with wonderful views of the lake but would be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheryl M, Owner at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. This is our first summer here and we have been unsure as to what to offer for sale in our Park Store especially as we are only 10 minutes from the city centre. The new redwood centre down the bottom on our hill offers about 3 different fast food shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here in the early Spring, so I don't know if it stays so peaceful through the summer, but the location and service were fantastic. The facilities were clean and easy to use, and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days with my husband here between Christmas and New Years. Very busy but well spaced out to give you privacy. Particularly good if you have children. We really liked the spot by the lake but you're still only 15 minutes from downtown Rotorua.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked three nights here, and I must say the location is excellent. You can walk all around the lake, which isn't too much of a trial. The site itself is very nice, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our only gripes are that the shower block is not as nice as some of the other Top 10 sites we have been on. There are no seats in the cubicles, and the hot water goes off after 5 minutes. This always seems daft to me, because if you want to spend longer in the shower you just press the button again. Also there was no hairdryer. Having said that I would recommend this site for the location alone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have been to this campground twice in the past few years. First time was a perfect 5/5 for location, facilities, cleanliness etc. However, this review is for our second time around, when we got a tent site in the new section they opened.
The new section (site numbers 140 or so and up) is far from the amenities blocks (though they did have a few chemical toilets in the area) - and more importantly, there's no water tap in the area.
Also of note is that there are a lot of wasps in the campground and the lakefront.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel

Address: 723 Tarawera Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park enjoys a picturesque setting in the renowned lakes region of the Blue and Green Lakes of Rotorua. The Park is located only 8 kms from the centre of town and provides a full range of accommodation including Qualmark rated 4 star Motels, ensuite units, cabins and Motorhome sites. Camping is available. Enjoy a TOP 10 experience in a TOP location. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.