We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical room for value a plus1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Rotorua

Grand Hotel Rotorua
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Rotorua to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Rotorua
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Eastern Bay Whakatane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Economical room for value a plus1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked in recently for two people and were both pleasantly surprised at the clean living space with lots of room including the bathroom facilities. It was lovely too that it was practically in the centre of town and handy to bars and cafes, some of which could be seen from our nice room. It was warm and cosy with a heat pump set to a comfy level and even more amazing we had electric blankets! That was such a bonus and a plus in our books. The hotel restaurant is just a short walk to the back of the hotel and on another street. They have a great menu there and a most generous serving too. The food was so yummy. The reception was welcoming too plus those in the bar and serving areas. We would definetly book there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    14
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked a budget room for two (double bed, own bathroom)

PROS:
- in an ideal location, close to shops, the I-Site, and other attractions
- very cheap, perfect for those on a budget
- helpful staff who are willing to solve problems

CONS
- cleanliness is sub-par; we couldn't even use the kitchen because it was so filthy. However, the staff offered us the use of their commercial breakfast kitchen
- there is a nightclub right next door, so if you need silence to sleep then you won't be happy here!
- the decor is terrible, and it feels a little like a prison

Overall, a good place to rest your head if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you're looking for value and location in Rotorua, this is a great place. While the hotel looks odd from the outside and the hallways and stairway are bashed up a bit(suitcases will do that)...our room was impeccably clean and in great shape! The staff couldn't have been any more helpful. When we were looking for Internet access and it wouldn't work, the attendant ran up and down the stairs several times to help us! The breakfasts were great, when we forgot something there, they were happy to wait for us when we were on our way through again to pick it up. Value and location were what we were looking for and that's exactly what we got! My only complaint? The pillows were hard! Ha if that's all to complain about ...well, that says it, doesn't it...

Room Tip: Front side is noisy from the street cleaners..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent four wonderful evenings in the premier room. The room and toilets were clean, spic and span. The staff was friendly, very helpful and ensured that we had no problems in checking in in spite of the late hour of our arrival. The breakfast was great. The location was perfect, just close to the I-site and the lake as well as the convention centre where we had the conference.
A great experience and great value for money.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are very good. Please check with the staff in case of late arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was a cheap place to stay in Rotorua. The location was excellent and the inclusive buffet breakfast was pretty good too. The room was okay, certainly not 5-star, but I wasn't expecting anything outstanding for what we paid.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a economy room for $80. Good price and can live with little in a hotel but this one missed the mark - after for $80 you still should be getting cleanliness and function.

Some of the good things:
Breakfast: toast, cereal, coffee and juice (some other bits too) hit the spot for us.
Size of room and amenities: Just fine with us

Some of the bad things:
Bathroom door didn't exactly fit and privacy was rather compromised which made us very comfortable.
Certain aspects were just not good: Mold on window frames, bare pipes on toilet that also looked kind of gross, etc. It made the whole room seem dirty even though it appeared to be pretty good.
Noisiest toilet EVER. it was comical and we could have lived with it if everything else had been better.


It's all about what you can live with and this was not enough for us...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rotorua

Address: 1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Rotorua 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Rotorua is an older style property located in the heart of Rotorua CBD. There are 38 rooms in total which can be divided into 3 categories (or room standards). There are 12 BUDGET Rooms or backpacker style rooms with private bathrooms which cater for those travellers wishing for some privacy and security in preference to a dormitory and on a limited budget. There are 7 ECONOMY Rooms which have the basics such as ensuite, TV, fridge, tea and coffee. They are clean and comfortable and ideal for short stays. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00amThere are 19 PREMIER Rooms which were renovated to a good standard and come complete with ensuite, TV, fridge, tea & coffee, phone, internet, hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.