We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Court Motel

Gibson Court Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Court Motel
Save
You added Gibson Court Motel to your Saves list
10 Gibson Street, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quirky but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This motel is very welcoming but is getting a bit tired and needs some money spending on it. Self-catering facilities are good. The best feature is the spa pool on the deck in most units, with water drawn directly from the volcanic aquifer. We would only recommend a room with the spa pool because without that the quality fades. Wifi does not reach some rooms and there are some corners where a deeper clean would be nice - note to owner: get the cleaner to look behind the door in the toilet. The location is some distance from the town centre - too far to stroll.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This motel has one decent thing, the mineral pool. When we were here, something was broken with the pipe system and the spa had to be turned off at 9. The Wi-Fi is decent in some rooms but is poor in rooms further away from the office. The TV and couch are a good combination with a nice touch of heaters. The host was very helpful and kind and gave us tips of many destinations.Overall, cheap for money and the spa pools are worth it but rooms, average at most.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the office-1,2,3,and surrounding rooms. The WI-FI is ok in these rooms but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family of 2 adults and 3 children appreciated what greeted us when walking into and through our unit. The girls thoroughly enjoyed the unit's mineral pool, and the boy loved the free wi-fi, and couch and beds in front of the tv. Mum and Dad enjoyed direct access to outside deck and mineral pool from their bedroom. It was clean, tidy, and well stocked with the necessary crockery, cutlery etc for our meals. Oodles of power points to ensure all our phones and laptops could be recharged and used at any one time. The Motel owner was quick to respond at the main desk when needed, and nothing was too much of a bother when asked. She was even apologetic that they charged for use of laundry facilities. Would recommend this as a Family Friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Back in the seventies and eighties (and probably earlier but I wouldn't know) there were many motels on Fenton Street with their own mineral hot water bores, such that these places were heated for next to nothing via radiators and each room either had it's own natural mineral pool or one enormous one for all to enjoy.

These have all gone. Most motels or hotels will only be able to offer you a spa bath with chlorinated mains hot water - no minerals.

Yes you can go to the Polynesian Pools and get a private pool but this is still not the same as filling your own pool yourself any time you like and bathing in it in the privacy of your own suite and not having to share the water with strangers (and wondering what they left in it).

This is where the Gibson Court Motel comes in. It is not a flash place, what's special about it is it's private mineral pools. Unless you are coming for these, the place is quite ordinary, but the pools make it not only unique in Rotorua, but in NZ I suspect. It is also very good value, if soaking away your troubles is what you most want to do, and many of us believe in the water's health benefits.

The family and I have stayed here numerous times, it's your classic Kiwi motel layout, a lounge/kitchenette area with two-three beds and a double bedroom. The pool is out on the back deck area, it is completely private.

In regards safety, the hot water can be very hot whilst running, so not safe to be left running with young children unsupervised, so I would say that this place is not really suitable for young families.

I think it's ideal for a stress break, for couples and people who need to relax and unwind and don't necessary want to make the trip every day to the Poly Pools.

Having said all this, the GC seems to be experiencing problems with it's natural bore. Some times it's not available at all and at others times May, the owner only has it on for a few hours each day. The water used to flow freely but now it spits and gurgles, it seems to have large pockets of air, and really isn't as safe as it was. I wonder if this is the beginning of the end, I know that there was a problem with the council and roadworks but I don't know what the politics are.

If I was you, I would ring a few days before your booking to check that the mineral water is flowing, and if not, you may want to try somewhere else - though I have no suggestions as to where.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very quiet situation and close to CBD and main attractions. Units have good sized lounge/dining, separate kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and toilet. Private mineral pool and courtyard completes the picture. This motel is also pet friendly. Owner is very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a small complex and has units with private pools with genuine thermal water off in a lovely courtyard off the bedroom. The owner is very helpful and the whole place is beautifully cared for. As it is just off the main drag it is lovely and quiet. This motel has everything that one would want ans is spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and an adequate kitchen.
We will be returning to this venue.

Room Tip: All units but twp have a private thermal pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The room was quite spacious but very badly lit and dated although the bedding was fresh and clean and kitchen was spotless and quite well equipped there were a lot of cobwebs. The mineral pool was very private and good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Court Motel

Address: 10 Gibson Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.